Little Did I Know…

Addie’s diaper-changing antics and her crashing out while I’m carrying her were both the start to the lovely stomach flu. Why do kids always get sick at night?? We were up all Sunday night with icky diapers and very, very bad diaper rash because of them. (If anyone knows a good rememdy for clearing up poor, raw baby bottoms, please let me know!!) She seemed okay yesterday and ate, not a ton, but she did eat. A few more icky diapers, but she seemed fine. And then last night I got the “Worst Mother of the Year” award.

A. went to bed just fine and Emma actually woke up crying at 4am, so I went in to see what was going on and noticed a funny smell…but dead-to-the-world me, with no sleep the night before, figured that she had an icky diaper and after debating whether to wake her up or not, decided against waking her up for sweet, sweet sleep. A half an hour later Addie was up crying. The smell was partly diaper, partly vomit…ALL OVER the crib. And I think she had probably gotten sick earlier in the night. And being the great Mommy that I am, I let her lie in it. For who knows how long. Ugh. Quite possibly the worst parenting moment ever in my history.

But, I guess I got what was coming to me…I’ve been sick all day. I definitely would never be able to be pregnant again. I could not do 13 weeks of throwing up and trying to mind two young girls. Yeah, it is a very good thing we are done on the baby front. I hope the flu is done around here, too….

1 Response to “Little Did I Know…”


  1. 1 Colleen August 10, 2007 at 8:35 am

    Yuck… poor little Addie. I’m sure your not the first Mommy to have missed it though. As yucky as it was… she was sleeping through it though? It must not have bugged her too much.

    I hope you’re all feeling better soon. It sucks to be sick.


Leave a Reply

