Needed: Christmas Spirit – Please Apply Within

I should state as a precursor to this post, I ADORE where we live. I really love our place, would in fact want to buy it – if we were given the opportunity. I really love our neighborhood, even in the crazy preparation for the Rose Bowl parade which literally marches through our front yard, it is an amazing part of Pasadena. I am even kinda (not totally, yet) in love with LA. And those of you who know me, also know that LA was never on my list of “hot spot places to live.” So that is a pretty big statement right there.

But, as we were sitting outside at lunch today, (yes, outside – it is December 5th and it was at least 70 degrees) and I have to admit it was pretty nice, I realized it is inconceivable that Christmas is only 20 days away! Maybe I really do need chilly days, snow-threatening clouds, even an occasional snow flurry for it to really feel like Christmas.

Then again, I think part of the problem is I am really missing our family and friends. This past weekend my Mom was hospitalized and it is really, really hard to not be able to hop in the truck and be there in a few hours. I know J. and I knew what we were getting into, and I know in my heart that we made the right decision for our “little” family by moving out here, but it is very hard to be so far away sometimes.

Plus, Christmas is about playing in the snow with the nieces and nephews or all of the neighborhood kids; going to visit the mall Santa with our friends Kim and Lauren and attempting (sometimes for days!) to take our “Christmas Card” picture; going to midnight mass in our tiny, country church with my parents and walking out to a blanket of snow afterwards. Those are the things I am really missing right now.

My mission this week, now that we are healthy and well again, is to find my Christmas spirit. Not just “retail” spirit, but that really fun Christmas feeling. I do realize that this is going to be an amazing Christmas with the girls – I mean they are really able to understand what is going on, what it is all about. I guess I just need to kick my butt spirit into gear, so I can enjoy it with them.

Any suggestions or help in doing so are always welcome!

2 Responses to “Needed: Christmas Spirit – Please Apply Within”


  1. 1 Jackie December 6, 2006 at 12:11 am

    Hey Care! I know how you feel on this one. It is wierd living so far away, especially during December. And the 50 degree fall we’re stuck in right now is not what we’re use to!! The bright side is we can picnic, go for walks, and explore the city we’re in more. So I just try and look at that. And we’re trying a lot to start our own “traditions” this year as opposed to what we’re use to doing with our families. I don’t really have any advice, just know where your coming from. I’m sure 6 years later and 2 more army moves under my belt and I’ll be wonderful at picking up and making new friends & letting go of the old ones a bit more.

  2. 2 Jeff December 6, 2006 at 8:56 am

    I realize that a) I don’t have kids and b) I’m kind of a Grinch, but I really dig SoCal Christmas. I think it just takes a while to get into it. It’s definitely tough being far away from the homeland, but there’s something to be said for not sliding around on ice while you’re driving.


Leave a Reply

