Happy 15 Months, Sweet Girl

Dear Addie –

So today we have hit the 15-month mark. You are officially a toddler, no longer a baby (although even as I write that I know that will never be true – you’ll always be my baby even when you are 35).

This past month has been, um…well, ahem….let’s just say “trying.” Yeah, that is probably the nicest way to say it. You have figured out that you are your own little person with your own little ideas about how the world should operate. And God help us if it isn’t operating like it should. My present from you for your 15-month birthday was that you slept through the night, last night! I never realized how much I missed those nice 12 hour nights until they became a distant memory. It has been a solid month of getting up at 2am and sometimes being up for a few hours, or getting up again at 5am and thinking it is time to wake up for the day. I blame the stomach flu, teeth and just plain crankiness, but it has all made for a loooong, rough month.

But, despite your temper tantrums, and even through my sleep deprivation, you have continued to amaze us with your personality, sense of humor and curiousity. And your vocabulary has totally blossomed! I really need to sit down and make a list because you know well over 30 words now and you seem to pick a new one up each day. And these are honest-to-goodness words which you understand the meanings to. This is by far my favorite age, everything is new and fun to not only you, but me as well.

And, your laugh! I love your laugh so much, it is truly infections and makes me laugh so hard.

Every. Single. Time.  I swear that will always and forever be my favorite sound.

I tried to capture a little video (I am really bad about taking video – but I get points for all my photo-taking and occasional blogging, right??) to document you and your antics right now – but it really does a poor job of capturing the real Addie. A person needs to only spend five minutes with you to fall totally, head-over-heels in love with you.  You are simply too sweet for words (or video).

I love you, my little jellybean.

Mama

3 Responses to “Happy 15 Months, Sweet Girl”


  1. 1 Vicky December 12, 2006 at 6:16 am

    I just melted watching your video!!

  2. 2 Jackie December 12, 2006 at 6:50 am

    That video is precious, just precious.


  1. 1 The tyrannical threes « Barely Controlled Chaos Trackback on October 28, 2008 at 4:46 pm

Leave a Reply

