Real Moms

I have a few blogs that I read every single day, and my bloglines (thanks, honey for fixing it!) has a running tally of 95 blogs that I check at least weekly. I am just amazed by all of the good reading material out there.  There are so many mommy blogs that I can commiserate with; trashy gossip blogs that I can escape reality with for a little bit; and then just some bloggers who make me laugh my butt off. It is inspiring and helpful in my own writing to continually be “trolling” for new stuff. It’s tough work to keep you people entertained!

Lately I have been following a “meme” called “Real Moms.” A “meme” (rhymes with “dream”) is kind of like those emails with the “get to know your friends” questions that you answer and send around. In the blogosphere, bloggers “tag” others with a “meme” and you are supposed to answer the questions, make the list, etc.

So anyhow, I’ve been following this “Real Moms” one and have seen some pretty fun ones. You are supposed to take a picture and finish the sentence “Real moms….”  I haven’t been able to come up with a really creative or original one yet – so I haven’t participated.  But most of them are really funny and as I clicked on one link last night, I was expecting to get another of these little glimpses into our “real mom” lives. Instead I was hit in the stomach with a post so amazingly beautiful and poignant and heart-wrenching all at the same time…I still can’t look at it or think about it without crying.

I can’t even begin to imagine or pretend to know what it feels like to lose a child, just thinking of the mere possibility cripples me. I think I would just completely shut down. But, I also think that this is a beautiful tribute and far better attempt at anything I could ever hope to write.

So, don’t say I didn’t warn you – just make sure you have a minute to yourself to really read this entry, and another minute to really compose yourself afterward.  Ready? Go read Bonnie’s meme.

And, then go hug your children. Tight. And be thankful for what God has given you.

3 Responses to “Real Moms”


  1. 1 Colleen March 23, 2007 at 3:55 pm

    I’ve been enjoying reading the “real moms” memes too, and had seen Bonnie’s. It really did make me wonder how I would ever move on without Zoe. Just heart breaking. I also haven’t participated… after reading so many it’s hard to come up with something different.

    Thank you for commenting on my post today. Since I just started blogging my heart skips a beat whenever I get word that I’ve got a comment. Thanks for your good wishes towards making friends. I hope your move goes smoothly and your new neighborhood is full of nice moms and kids the same age as Emma and Addie!

  2. 2 Bon March 24, 2007 at 3:23 pm

    just wanted to thank you for honouring my post by linking to it…getting that particular message out there means a lot to me.

    cheers, & peace.
    Bon

  3. 3 michelle beauchesne March 26, 2007 at 6:19 pm

    Bonnies meme….whew,takes the air out of me and makes me thankful for all that I have . Two beautiful children……but I will always count to three. Thanks for sharing this with us , it heals.


Leave a Reply

