Good idea or disaster-in-waiting?

E. just saw one of these and said “Ohhhh…Mommy! Can I get one of those for my birthday?? I promise to be good!”  (This has been her mantra the past 2 weeks as her birthday rapidly approaches).

 screenshot_1.jpg

Trampoline with Handles

I just can’t decide. Good idea? Let them jump on something other than my sofa and get their sillies all out. Or Bad idea? They are gonna bounce right off and crack their heads wide open.

What do you think?

7 Responses to “Good idea or disaster-in-waiting?”


  1. 1 Matthew March 30, 2007 at 4:14 am

    We don’t have one, but our Emma was enrolled in Gymboree for a few sessions and they had one. I must say, I liked that it had a handle.

    They did a feature on our local NBC affiliate once called “What We Wish Parents Knew” where they talked to ER doctors. The number one thing they said they wished parents knew was that trampolines are very dangerous.

    They were talking about the huge ones that people put in their backyard and let their kids play unsupervised because “they’re soft.” It’s a high fall. I would think this one, with a handle to hold on to…and low to the ground…would be a good compromise.

  2. 2 Carter-Ann March 30, 2007 at 4:15 am

    Oh my god, that looks fun. Could I have one? I know what you mean about head cracking. My baby is only 4 months and I already have a list of toys I wish I could ban, just in case. But this doesn’t look toooo dangerous, it it’s on grass or a carpet.

  3. 3 Stacy March 30, 2007 at 6:17 am

    I would check with your insurance company before getting one (though it looks like a lot of fun). Most insurance companies say that trampolines negate your liability insurance on your homeowners policy. That would matter if a friend’s child got hurt on your property by the trampoline.

  4. 4 Kim March 30, 2007 at 6:40 am

    Maybe you could keep it in a safe place and pull it out as a treat? I think as long as you’re there to supervise you can keep the girls safe on it. I’d let Lauren have one. It’s gotta be safer than the couch to ottoman to couch jump she does all the time.

  5. 5 msscatter March 30, 2007 at 8:36 am

    Speaking from a non-parent point of view, I’d let my kid have one. We had one, a small one, without a handle and I don’t think any of us shed any blood or broke any bones on it. It never left the living room either.

  6. 6 Colleen March 30, 2007 at 9:05 am

    My mom actually has one of those. I haven’t seen it… but she told me she bought one that was advertised as an exercise program. Some new thing… it sounded like one of those fad type programs. She said it’s actually pretty fun… and hers came with an exercise video of course. I’ll have to make a point of trying it out when I’m over their house the next time.

    Anyway… if you do buy it for Emma… you may be able to find the exercise video and put it to use yourself!!! Always a good thing when you can find more than one use for something!

  7. 7 Homemom3 March 31, 2007 at 3:15 am

    oh man I can see that accident happening. But my kids are the type that would try to flip over the bar once momma wasn’t looking.


Leave a Reply

