Happy 4th Birthday, Emma Gracie.

Dear Emma Grace,

At this moment, four years ago I was working through some pretty good-sized contractions, thanking God that despite some pre-term labor scares, we had managed to keep you in your little cocoon until you had reached 38 weeks. I was also wondering if it was possible to keep you in for another 38 weeks.

I was so scared.

em_born.jpg

I was just so unconvinced that I was ready to be a mommy. I was so worried that I wouldn’t know what to do or what to say or how to raise you into a smart, productive member of society.

And four years later, even after having practice with you, and now your sister, too…I still don’t know what the heck I’m doing. I’m still scared. There are many days that I’m not sure I can be a good mommy. And I’m constantly questioning my ability to challenge you and nurture you into an upstanding young lady.

em_face.jpg

But I do know one thing – I wouldn’t trade one moment of it for anything. You have given your Daddy and I so much happiness and joy, we simply cannot imagine life without you. You have also made me a more patient person (well, at least a little more than I used to be). You have helped me to stop and experience the little things in life, the important things. And you have challenged me to be the best mommy I can be.

em_kiss.jpg

 

As I watch you grow into a charming, funny and sweet little girl I can’t help but feel so proud that you are my daughter. And with your new house, your new school, and your new friends, I just know you are going to have your best year yet. I am so happy to be here to experience it along with you.

em_laugh.jpg

 

Happy Birthday Sweet Gracie.
I love you,
Mommy

6 Responses to “Happy 4th Birthday, Emma Gracie.”


  1. 1 Matthew April 9, 2007 at 8:46 am

    Happy Birthday, Emma!

  2. 2 Kimmer April 9, 2007 at 9:54 am

    Happy Birthday, Miss Emma!! We hope you have a great day! I was thinking about you this morning, Care — remebering the call that I got 4 years ago today to tell me SHE had arrived. I love reminiscing about the actual BIRTH day on my kids’ birthday’s too. It is so special, amazing and absolutely the ultimate miracle God can give us :o)

  3. 3 Colleen April 9, 2007 at 10:35 am

    Such a sweet letter. I just love the last picture of Emma. You can almost hear the laughing.

  4. 4 Jackie April 9, 2007 at 10:41 am

    Tell Emma her big cousin said Happy Birthday!! Have a wonderful day (its already night-time here in Germany) and take in all lthe little things. And, from here it looks like you’re surely cut out and made for being a mommy to those two little ladies! Miss you šŸ™‚ and have a good week.

  5. 5 Debby April 9, 2007 at 4:12 pm

    Happy Birthday to my very special first granddaughter. I hope that you have a wonderful day. Loves and kisses, Nena

  6. 6 msscatter April 10, 2007 at 12:43 pm

    Happy Birthday Emma! You have grown up to be quite the beautiful young lady.


Leave a Reply

