Dirt under our nails…

E. and I just finished planting a little herb garden in our courtyard. She was the cutest little 4-year old in her gardening apron and sundress!

em_gardening.jpg

I used some of my “work/alone” time yesterday to do a little plant shopping. I should have taken a picture of the garden bed before we pulled all of the weeds. leaves, and dead plants out – but I didn’t. Here is what it looked like when we started this afternoon….

before_garden.jpg

I told E. last night that she could help me and we would plant the garden today. She specifically requested sunflowers, so I bought her some seeds, and told her when A. was napping today we would plant.

She had been asking if it was naptime since about 10am this morning. She was so excited! Which makes me so excited! I love to garden, and feel like it s such a great thing that we can do together. She loves it, I actually get to spend time with her, and we get something productive done all at the same time. It is a win-win situation for everyone.

So here is what it looked like after we were done.

finished_garden.jpg

I know…not so impressive yet. But give the herbs a little time to grow and I think it will look great! We’ll post some pics in a few weeks or so. (E.’s sunflowers are going to be along the back.)

I also found these amazing hanging plants – so cheap at Target! (Yet another reason to love that store!) I figured by the time I bought the  plants and pots, it was definitely cheaper to buy these planters. So I got two, intending on putting them from the balcony against the house. Um…yeah. It is a little higher up to the balcony than I thought. I’m looking for ulterior solutions. But look how pretty they are…

hanging_basket.jpg

Man, it feels so good to dig around in the dirt and grow beautiful things…well, besides my beautiful daughters, of course.

2 Responses to “Dirt under our nails…”


  1. 1 Christina April 26, 2007 at 9:21 am

    What a wonderful Mommy-Daughter time! Feel free to come work on my garden any time…I have a “black” thumb that seems to kill every green thing – even cactus!

  2. 2 Stacy April 27, 2007 at 4:55 am

    What a great thing to do together! I have an herb garden, too, and love it for cooking. We live up north, so not everything grows back, but my thyme, rosemary and oregano plants come back in the spring. The cilatro is pretty and smells lovely right away but turns ugly when it goes to seed. I wish I knew how to keep it pretty!


Leave a Reply

