Oh, is it May already?

I miss our friends and family. A lot. Everyday. There are a lot of times I get caught up in the day-to-day stuff, and I must admit the loneliness gets buried or forgotten for a little while. Plus we have great friends here who keep us busy and happy and suddenly an entire year has gone by – we have been in California for almost one whole year! It is almost unbelievable. What am I saying? It IS unbelievable!

But when I stop to think of it like that, then I get sad. I think about the fun birthday parties, and holidays that we have missed. I think about not seeing my nieces, and our friends growing up. Or even not being around for the All-day Crop – a full day of scrapbooking and goofing off with friends. Then I get downright miserable.

A few weeks ago my sister asked what I want for my birthday (yes, it has come around again…every year with the stupid thing!) and I told her I just wanted her to come see me. And she is!! The last week in May. That has been the little glimmer of sunshine that has been getting me through the tough days. Our little countdown has begun and I am so very excited to get to spend time with her.

And I have been trying to figure out all of our summer scheduling: traveling to see friends and family, swim classes, our little family vacation and Emma’s school. While at the same time having some pretty sad conversations with a couple of my friends from back home, a little bit of pleeeaaading going on. “Please come see us!”

And then last night I get an email from my friend in Chicago that just made me horribly homesick. Which resulted in the two of us spending today scrambling and trying to figure out schedules, airline miles, etc…suddenly it was just imperative that we spend even a few days together.

And just a few minutes ago she sent me an email that they are booked. She is coming with her daughter, Lauren (E.’s best friend!) and her new little (I guess not so little, now!) guy, Will – my godson! 🙂 They are going to be here in 18 days!! 18 DAYS!! I’m so very excited. I cannot wait to spend nearly a week hanging with them and just soaking all of them in, while I can.

And then I’ll have my sister. And then our family vacation. It just may be a little too much excitement for this aging 35-year old (!!) heart…

5 Responses to “Oh, is it May already?”


  1. 1 Kimmer April 28, 2007 at 5:39 am

    I’m glad to hear you’re going to have some company!! I know we had this talk earlier in the week of how we NEED our girlfriends. I was laughing when I read about you missing all day crops. I went to a crop last night and only managed to get a half a page done. I sat there with 2 other ladies for 6 hours and none of us got much done. We all agreed we just needed to be out of the house and visiting. That was so much more theraputic than anything else I could have done last night :o)

  2. 2 Colleen April 28, 2007 at 10:52 am

    I understand completely how you feel… and I’m going to be feeling it even more soon. We haven’t moved…and aren’t moving. We’re the ones “left behind”. A few years ago my brother moved to Florida (and his wife and my niece are there). My parents just sold their house (they close 5/30) and they are moving to Florida by my brother. My grandparents and my mom’s brother’s family also live in Florida. (They’re all spread out though).

    So… it’s just little lonely me getting left behind. We do have my husband’s family… but it’s just not the same. I’ve already told my husband that whenever he gets sent on a business trip Zoe and I might have to take a Florida visit. We’ll see how that works out.

    Anyway… I feel for you. So glad you’re getting some visits and a vacation!

  3. 3 Nickie April 29, 2007 at 4:40 am

    One of these days we’ll come out and see you too. We also have friends 3 sets who’ve moved out that way recently so we have a lot of visiiting to do with all of them. I told Dan when we get ready to take the kids to Disney we’ll have to go California way to visit everyone too. Until then we’ll wait for the money fairy to drop us some cash so we can make it happen. Keep your chin up May will be here before you know it!

  4. 4 Christina April 29, 2007 at 12:38 pm

    I am so fortunate to have my entire immediate family living within and hour of me, as well as hubby’s family. I can only imagine how hard it would be to have my parents and siblings and friends across the country! I’m glad you get some company this month. :o)

  5. 5 msscatter April 30, 2007 at 6:30 am

    I’m only 2 1/2 hours away from my family and I feel that way ALOT, I can’t imagine being as far away as you are. Maybe *someday* I’ll get to come visit you, I would love it (and maybe you would like it too).


Leave a Reply

