The first day of the rest of my life?

Today is my birthday. I am turning 35. This is such an odd birthday for me for two reasons.

First, I don’t feel like I am halfway through my 30’s now – really just as close to 40 as I am 30. I really still kind of feel (most days) like I am in my 20s somewhere. 35 seems so “adult” and most days I really have to remind myself that I am in fact, an adult.

The second reason is that 35 was this arbitrary “age” that I had set up for myself. By the time I turn 35 I wanted to have a career (check), gotten married (check), traveled a bit (check, although I could always do more!), and most importantly…I wanted to have had my 2 kids (check and check!). So I seem to be very much on path in my little lifeplan here. Things are working out incredibly well and as planned. I am grateful and very excited to be me right now.

But I gotta work on a plan for the next 35 years. I’m thinking it must include the obvious like “living in the moment,” cherishing my girls and the other gifts I have been given. And also being a little nicer, a little less hard on myself. Any other advice for this old birthday girl?

6 Responses to “The first day of the rest of my life?”


  1. 1 Andy May 5, 2007 at 2:49 pm

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY, CUZ!!
    The age thing is ALL in the mind. Please remind of this in 5 months when I hit that next plateau, you know – the first anniversary of my 39th birthday!
    Blessings,
    – Andy

  2. 2 Christina May 6, 2007 at 12:24 pm

    Hey, what does age really matter?! It’s just an arbitrary number. :o) But it sounds like you are living out your life exactly as you dreamed – congrats! And Happy Birthday!

  3. 3 Becky May 6, 2007 at 12:59 pm

    Happy Belated Birthday! Being that I just hit my 30th, I still have a few more years until I hit that magical 35 mark. However, it sounds like you are doing a fantastic job at achieving each and every one of your goals. Kudos. Most people don’t.

  4. 4 Keith May 6, 2007 at 4:11 pm

    Happy b-day! Mine is in 12 days, 38. I’ll be going to my 20 year reunion in July. Man I’m old!

  5. 5 michelle May 6, 2007 at 4:40 pm

    You COULD not possibly be any nicer. Happy Birthday my good friend……….so thankful to celebrate your birth! : )
    Michelle


Leave a Reply

