Under a week to go…

We have less than one week now before our crazy month of excitement begins. I have been frantically trying to get the house in order and ready for our visitors – without losing my sanity.

So far so good. (On the house part at least…not so great on the sanity part.) Yesterday was a very productive day and the only thing that didn’t get done, was a post for this blog.

Em and I finished up the artwork for Addie’s room. So the girls’ bedrooms are just about done. They were both recently painted a yellow color that isn’t too bad. Come to think of it, the playroom/guestroom/office is the same yellow – maybe they had a sale on that yellow? Or the family before us really, really loved yellow.

Anyhow, it isn’t too bad of a yellow, and E’s bedspread, rug, baskets, and artwork from her old room really work pretty well. So that was a little bonus. I didn’t want to do the same sort of thing for Addie, yet also didn’t want to buy a whole bunch of new stuff either. She is at the weird “in between” stage, not quite a baby, not yet a big girl. So I am doing more of the soft pink and a green color with the yellow. (Em’s has the more vibrant pink, blue and purple.) But, I have not been able to find any artwork that I liked in those colors for Addie. So I took her letters (that spell out her name) and repainted them and did a couple little pieces of artwork for her big wall. And E. and I picked out a bunch of pictures and did some collages for each of their rooms, too. I really like how they turned out. We even did a fun collage of bath pics for their bathroom that they share – so very cute!

And we hemmed curtains – again couldn’t find curtains I liked, so bought some panels that I “repurposed” to make work. And I shortened her cribskirt. Now that the mattress is on the bottom level, the skirt was not really working. (And getting caught up in the Scooba! We can’t have that…) So her room is finally looking pulled together and E. thought it was very cool that she was “helping” with her “baby sister’s room.” I’m hoping to get a comfy chair for Addie’s room. We have been reading bedtime books separately, and when I take A. up for bed we have been sitting on her floor to read. (Again still have the crib…no place to sit!) Plus I found a great chair at Ikea that is green and pink striped – it would look so perfect in there. I’m on my way this afternoon, just hoping they still have it. I think the room is sweet, comfy and cute – yet still versatile and will grow with her as she gets older.

I was thinking the other day about when E. got her big girl bed (for her 2nd birthday) and realized that is only a few months away for our little A. I haven’t really talked to J. about it – but I’m thinking that A. may stay in her crib until she is 4. That is ok, right? Or maybe until she is old enough to climb out of the crib…I just can’t put her in a big girl bed yet!

So long story, (not really) short – I’m happy that the girls’ rooms are done. Only, what? Five other (major!) rooms to go. I can do that in 6 days, right?

(I’ll put up pics of the girls’ bedrooms tomorrow. Hopefully with a new chair for Ad!)

5 Responses to “Under a week to go…”


  1. 1 Becky May 10, 2007 at 4:30 pm

    Way to go on pulling the girls’ rooms together. I bet it’s adorable. I can relate to trying to complete a list full of tasks. I’m doing the exact same thing. I can’t wait to see the photos. And as far as the crib…sure, why not! Our lil guy is 15 months and I am in no hurry to put him in a big boy bed. It marks an end to baby chapter. Bittersweet, for sure.

  2. 2 Kim May 10, 2007 at 6:44 pm

    Can’t believe you are frantically trying to get things done just for us. Will isn’t gonna know the difference, Lauren won’t notice, and of course, it doesn’t matter to me if everything is completely finished! We’re just so excited to see you guys, we’d sleep on floors in unfurnished rooms, or even outside or on the beach. Can’t wait!!!

  3. 3 Michelle May 10, 2007 at 7:48 pm

    Carrie!

    Your house looks amazing………………I am so impressed. I’m hoping that your gift of home design wears off on me! You ARE the bomb…….. : )

  4. 4 MommyBrain May 11, 2007 at 6:30 am

    Those rooms sound so cute. I love the bathroom collage idea and will be shamelessly copying it for my own bathroom. Hope the IKEA trip is successful. I love that store.

  5. 5 Colleen May 11, 2007 at 7:28 am

    Can’t wait to see pictures. Everything sounds so cute.

    I LOVE LOVE LOVE IKEA!!!!! Almost our whole house is done with IKEA.

    I totally feel the same way about the move from the crib to the bed. I’m holding off as long as possible. Since Zoe climbed out the one time, she hasn’t done it again. Hopefully it scared her enough to the point she’ll never do it again. We did buy one of those cribs that converts to a toddler bed though, and then into a headboard and footboard.

    Good luck with getting your rooms done in time!!!


Leave a Reply

