Heard around the house this weekend…

(Addie running through the upstairs with Daddy’s keys…)

D: Hey, Swiper! Give me back my keys.
A: NO! Not Swiper, Daddy. I’m Dora!

E: No, Addie is Boots the monkey!

Then all of us fell out laughing.

I think that Addie’s little role-playing and just her knowledge of all things “kid,” has definitely been enhanced by her big sister. She walks around nearly all day dressed up in the “rella” (Cinderella) blue gown and one shoe. It is always one shoe…I think she is taking the “lost one glass slipper thing” a little bit far…but she never puts them both on! It is crazy how much she has picked up from Em. Emma didn’t know anyone if they didn’t live on Sesame Street or in Blue’s neighborhood until she was three or so. But little A. has been catapulted into Em’s world and she can, and will, tell you the difference between Little Einsteins and The Wonder Pets.

Now really, who needs to watch reality TV when we have our own little cast of fairy tale and cartoon characters right here?

————–

Don’t know any of the characters mentioned up there? Really?! Um, ok. Then you clearly have not yet been acquainted with the bonita chica, Dora the Explorer. She has a sidekick monkey, named Boots presumably from the large snowboot-like apparel on his monkey toes. And they are always on little missions when “Swiper” the fox manages to foil their plans by swiping something – hence his name. It is a favorite in our house right now, but Em is learning a whole lot of espanol from it, so I am not complaining too loudly.

4 Responses to “Heard around the house this weekend…”


  1. 1 Colleen July 8, 2007 at 7:16 pm

    Well… I won’t be the one to call the tv police on you. We just got a cable upgrade… now we have Noggin. I cannot tell you how excited I am to have some different Zoe shows. I will admit we watch more tv than I planned…. but I think I pick the good shows. (I hope) And like you’re saying… Zoe has picked up some Spanish already (she knows red and green… and occassionally will sort of count). We also watch a lot of shows with music and singing and dancing. Helps keep us active!

  2. 2 carrievoris July 8, 2007 at 7:36 pm

    Colleen –
    Yahoo for you and Zoe – Noggin is so much fun! It is really a savior in our house.

    Although we are still loving Peep around here too, on your suggestion! But Noggin is a mainstay – I know I can leave it on and run in to take a shower, and nothing inappropriate will come on! All good shows, educational, musical, totally fun.

    I was totally going to be “that no-TV mom” when E. was born. Only Baby Einstein occasionally and a little Sesame Street. My, oh my how things have changed with 2. Some days we are just trying to get by… 🙂 But I do think the shows are so great and interactive these days, like the Noggin slogan – “It’s like preschool on TV!”.

  3. 3 Christina July 9, 2007 at 4:39 am

    LOL! Your girls are too funny! If Addie vs Nadia is any indication, I’d have to say YES, the big sister influence really has catapulted Addie to big girl-ism! I think a lot of it is just Nadia’s personality, but she has NO interest in or knowledge of any of those characters. She calls ALL animated characters “Elmo.”
    I always said my kid wouldn’t watch a lot of tv and she doesn’t – but not because I won’t let her! There are days when I wish so much that she was fascinated by The Box. But she won’t even watch for 30 seconds. I ‘m sure the day if coming when that will change, tho…

  4. 4 Laura McIntyre July 13, 2007 at 1:30 am

    She sounds like such a big girl, Rebecca does’t watch alot of tv to be honest but i have put Dora on a few times for her. I love the silly things kids say


Leave a Reply

