Like Mother, Like Daughters

“It feels so good to be home, Mama!”

I couldn’t agree more with little Miss Em. I’m not really sure why I look forward to traveling and taking “vacations” so much, when after a few days, all I really want to do is come home.

We had an uneventful journey back today. The girls were amazingly good despite the fact that they were up talking until at least 9:30pm last night, and then I had to wake them up at 5:45am this morning. For those of you not-so-keen on the mathematics, that is a good 3 hours less for the night than they usually get. It had all the makings of being really, really ugly – but they were great. And I spent the rest of the day doing laundry, cleaning out cat boxes and fridges, and then grocery shopping. All very boring, but all very necessary.

The rest of our time in Michigan was a little stressful and chaotic, I’ve got tons to write about, but I’m still trying to formulate and get my thoughts straightened out on all of it, so that will come soon. I’m just too exhausted for it tonight.

It always amazes me, but doesn’t surprise me, (if that makes any sense) how routine the girls are. When they are not in their own beds with their own rituals, they are just off. Like I said, I know this, so it doesn’t really surprise me, but it is still astounding how differently they act, so not like they normally are day-to-day.

And yet, maybe that is the way I am, too. That is why I’m always counting the days, so relieved to be back home.

And now my bed beckons me. I have the new Harry Potter to start tonight – but like Emma (who fell asleep holding the book I was supposed to read to her tonight – before I could even kiss Addie and get her tucked in!) I doubt I will even get one page read.

6 Responses to “Like Mother, Like Daughters”


  1. 1 ksmcnulty July 26, 2007 at 4:01 am

    Hi Care, Glad you and the girls are safe at home and in your own beds!! I know how much you needed that:o)

  2. 2 Elisa July 26, 2007 at 4:43 am

    When James was little, he had trouble going away for weekend trips because he would miss home so much. We came up with the saying, “The best part of going away is getting to come back home!” That simple reminder that we’d always head back home made it okay for him to leave.

  3. 3 Stacy July 26, 2007 at 6:18 am

    Glad you are safely home in the comfort of your own beds! I love to go travel, but I also LOVE being home amongst my nest and our routines, too.

  4. 4 Colleen July 26, 2007 at 7:36 am

    Glad you had a nice trip… and are happily back home. I know what you mean. I am a person who likes my routine. I deal alright with changes… but am much more comfortable with my normal daily schedule. I think Zoe is that way too… although she does enjoy being social, so if there are people around she’s happy as could be regardless of schedule or surroundings.

    oooohhhh Harry Potter Harry Potter. I’m on page 268 after 5 days. My cousin actually read it in 11 hours!!! She was asked to be one of 10 reviewers for the Tampa paper and needed to read it in 48 hours or less. 11 hours is crazy though.

  5. 5 Christina July 26, 2007 at 6:23 pm

    Welcome back to your cozy little home! I hear ya…vacations are all well and good, but there’s no place like home. :o)

  6. 6 Laura McIntyre August 1, 2007 at 1:07 pm

    I always feel the same when i go away, nothing like coming home again


Leave a Reply

