Warning: Serious Crabbiness Ahead!

You may want to turn right around and walk, no RUN, in the other direction. I’m warning you, this cranky post might be contagious, and believe me – you don’t want any part of it.

I’ve been a slug with the whole writing thing lately. I have all kinds of things rolling around in my head, but I’m just having a difficult time getting it all down the way I want it to.

Plus, I have been so darn crabby this week. (I’m sure J. will attest to this fact since he is the one bearing the brunt of it.) And the worst part of all, is no matter what I do, I can’t pull myself out of this funk. I think I said “I just quit” several times yesterday.

Need to do laundry. Why bother? As soon as the last sock is washed the hampers will miraculously be full again.

Need to scoop the cat poop. Why bother? They will sit and wait until I have scooped the box so they can poop in the fresh cat litter. Little present for me, I guess.

Need to unload the dishwasher. Again. Why bother? The dishes are conspiring against me. “Aha! She thinks that is the last dirty dish, we’ll show her! Reproduce! As quickly as you possibly can!”

I guess if it was just household duties that was making me crabby, it would be okay. I could just look the other way for awhile and wait it out. But the girls and I just seem to be feeding off of each other. Emma has found some A-T-T-I-T-U-D-E along with her new friends at school. We have spent A LOT of time in time-out this week. And Addie is feeling a little under the weather, which makes her a little whinier than usual, which in my impatient state…well, let’s just say, it isn’t pretty around here.

Please tell me that you all have gone through this at some point, too. Anyone…? Anyone….? Bueller? Bueller?

This morning I was bound and determined to step outside of my ever-present “I don’t care” attitude and just get on with everything. So I went to the gym and biked my heart (and hopefully some of my butt) out in spin class. And I must admit, it did help a bit. It was a good, positive way to burn off some of my aggression.

But now as I sit in my living room and Emma bounces off the wall with her endless energy and sassiness, I can feel the funk settling back in, just like the dust on my coffee table.

Arrrgghhh.

8 Responses to “Warning: Serious Crabbiness Ahead!”


  1. 1 ksmcnulty August 1, 2007 at 3:59 pm

    YES! YES! YES! I have been there. My lack of deisre to do ANYTHING around the house has pretty much hung on all summer. Sorry to hear it’s a bad week, but I so feel your struggles. Here it comes…that lovely little catch phrase I’ve heard so often…This too, shall pass. It sure doesn’t seem like it when it’s happening to you, huh? Love you—hang in there.

  2. 2 Becky August 1, 2007 at 5:28 pm

    I can absolutely relate to everything you said. The laundry, the dishwasher, the cat litter, the toys, the filing, the trash, the …. I have found myself in the same state of attitude that you are in too. If I ignore it, then I sit up all night long, unable to sleep, getting madder and madder by the minute. If I do it, I get madder by the minute too. All I can say is, be thankful it’s just the four of you there. It could be “worse” and you could be looking at all of that…double! I hope this week improves for you…and me. Keep your chin up. We will get through this.
    Becky

  3. 3 arizaphale August 2, 2007 at 4:37 am

    You are so not alone! There are days when I want a T shirt which says…
    I’m out of estrogen and I have a GUN!!!!!
    (er… I don’t really, we have gun laws here :-))

    Most times you can just go “I wish someone else would think of doing this”, but every 3 weeks or so I descend into
    “If I don’t do it…it just doesn’t get DONE!!!!!” accompanied by slamming dishwasher doors and crashing crockery in the sink and then everyone runs around in fear of their jugular veins and makes a pathetic and random attempt to appease me. Once the crisis is over they all breathe a sigh of relief and go right back to letting me do it!!!

    I used to do karate which I found very helpful. Nowadays I just drink white wine 😀

    btw: small children whining is one thing, wait til they get to 18 and they’re still whining………………

    11.30pm:”Can you pick me up from the station? Its too cold to walk.”

  4. 4 Aunt Vicki August 2, 2007 at 6:29 am

    I think that is the first time I have ever heard you in this kind of a mood. If it helps at all, some day when it is just you and J. and the girls are gone — you will look back at these days and say it was worth it! But for today — know that you are in my thoughts — and I will be praying for you because we have all been there. It is just that life doesn’t always go the way we think it should and then we realize how little we can do about it which just leads us back to where we started. I am sure that very soon you and the girls will be doing fun things again — and that things will look much brighter.

    Love you lots,

    Aunt Vicki

  5. 5 Laura McIntyre August 2, 2007 at 12:25 pm

    Oh yes i think we all have days like that. Hope things have gotten better

  6. 6 Christina August 3, 2007 at 4:46 am

    I’m behind on my blog reading, but I’m sorry you’ve been having one of THOSE kind of weeks. Believe me, I can ralate, and I’m pretty sure we all can. Now wise words from me…but lots of commiseration!

  7. 7 Michelle August 3, 2007 at 6:11 am

    Ahh…must be running in the family this week. You are not alone sis. Same thing going on in our household. Hang in there, we’ll make it. Note how long it has taken me to respond to this blog. Proof that it has been one of those days…I mean weeks.

  8. 8 Colleen August 3, 2007 at 2:08 pm

    Oh… I’ve been there. More times than I want to admit. I hate those days.


Leave a Reply

