No More Crabby Patties Here

So I’m done. No more “woe is me” pity party around here. Sorry for that little derailment. Thanks for coming back and thank you so, so much for the comments. As my friend Kimmer says, “we all should get a ‘poor me’ day every once in awhile.”

Ahem…yes, I know mine was pushing three days, but we are all good again.

A couple of things pulled me out of the nasty funk.

First, all three projects are done. You know the projects that I have been belly-aching about for oh, i don’t know, like three months now? All done. All sent off. Completed. *big sigh*

And secondly, I just realized, I don’t really have much to complain about in the greater scheme of things. And I remembered the feeling I had a few weeks ago while we were in Michigan. The main reason for the girls and I making the trek back to Michigan was to see J’s grandpa who is not doing very well. He is on his third round of cancer, and this is probably going to be the last fight for him. But, the surprising thing is how totally at peace Grandpa is with all of it. He told us that he is ready to go home, he knows that there is a place for him, and he is just sad that he won’t be here to see the girls grow up. But he knows that it is all going to be okay.

Yes, it was hard to hear him say all of that. But I just remember being so amazed at his faith and his conviction that “this is how it is meant to be.” There are few people in this world that have that kind of complete and total faith. It was inspiring.

The more I thought about this yesterday, the more I realized that I really do believe that there is a “plan for us,” our “lot in life,” our “in the stars,” our “fate.” Whatever you want to call it, whatever you believe in.

And I just reminded myself while I stumble along that path, I had better darn well enjoy it.

I saw this quote the other day, and I’m sorry I can’t remember where I saw it – probably another blog, but it said, “Remember when you have children, the days may be long, but the years are short.”

Too short to sit around feeling sorry for myself, that is for sure.

1 Response to “No More Crabby Patties Here”


  1. 1 Christina August 3, 2007 at 5:08 am

    I’m glad you’re feeling better. Beautiful words from you. “when you have children, the days may be long, but the years are short.” So true, so true!


Leave a Reply

