Small Change: Month 7 and 8

Are you tired of reading my posts today yet? This is number 4 (4!!) for the day…open the floodgates and it all comes tumbling out, I guess. I just realized that it is August.

AUGUST! The last month of summer.

Wow. And has been for 2 days. Who knew? Well, I’m sure plenty of people knew, but it has kind of snuck up on me. (Yes, that’s me, the slow one over in the corner.)

Anyways, it is time for Small Change again. Last month our charge was to do something. Pretty much anything counted, since it was summer and we are all busy and hot. Around our house we managed to find yet more stuff to donate. How in the world is that possible, you ask? Haven’t we been donating something every month since our big move?

And to answer, “I have no earthly idea,” and “yes, yes, yes!”

So I packed up stuff to hand down to our family, committed to sending our baby stuff that we no longer need (hooray!) to a cousin who is unexpectedly expecting, cleaned out more closets and took a load to Goodwill, and have a load for the AmVets to pick up. Oh, and I also free-cycled our desk. I uncharitably tried to sell it, didn’t get any takers, so then I just gave it to the first person who “needed” it. That shouldn’t really count as being charitable, but it does count in getting me one step closer to being able to park in the garage!

I have heard from many of you who are continuing to do some of the previous challenges, like donating blood, becoming organ donors, and helping children’s charities. So a big “Yeah!” to all of you. And keep up the great work!

I love this month’s challenge. Mostly because I have a love for the office supply store and remember getting to go pick out supplies before each school year started. A new, fresh notebook, just-sharpened pencils, the “gum” erasers, it is all such good stuff. (Yes, I was also the nerdy, smart kid in the other corner!) And this month’s challenge is to donate some school supplies to a kid who needs them. Passing on my love for yummy school goodness, to a kid who may not otherwise get them? How can you say no to that?

1 Response to “Small Change: Month 7 and 8”


  1. 1 Michelle August 3, 2007 at 6:21 am

    Umm…you can donate to me! No, I’m not needy, but LOVE new school supplies like you do. It is so bad, that I can’t wait to take Alexis school shopping. So many friends/parents complain about having to go “back to school shopping” and I can’t wait! Blame it on my profession I guess. New pens, crisp white paper, expo smelly markers, yum, yum, YUM!


Leave a Reply

