Anniversary Adventure – Part II

So here is the other half of our exciting Anniversary Adventure – J.’s and my version…

Seattle is so very nice. I really liked the very little of it we got to see. It is like a cleaner, nicer version of San Francisco. We hung out at Pike Place Market for a few hours in the afternoon, which is what Fisherman’s Wharf in SF should be like. It was typical Northwest-Pacific type weather – cloudy and chilly and threatening to rain – but even that was a nice change from the constant sun of LA. (No, I’m not complaining…I’m just saying an occasional dreary day is a nice break!)

We watched them “catch fish” at the fish market and had an awesome lunch from Beecher’s, a cheese place which claims to have the “world’s best macaroni and cheese.” And I must say, that claim may very well be true. I don’t know about the “world’s best” but it was definitely the best I’ve ever had. Their cheese is simply amazing. We had to smuggle some back to California with us.

And I made the pilgrimage to the Starbucks mecca. I had a coffee from the very first Starbucks store ever – it is right there in Seattle. They have a coffee that is brewed specifically for that store and it is really the BEST coffee I have ever had.

Cheese, coffee, no kids for the afternoon…yeah, it was pretty nice.

Due to our cheese and coffee debauchery neither J. or I were hungry, and we decided to have dinner after the show. So we went to Young Frankenstein (opening night of previews – pretty cool!) and figured it would be 2 hours or so. We were thinking, by 9:30ish, we’d be able to have dinner. Well, fast forward 2 hours, and the intermission had just started at 9:30. It was a very, very long show.

I enjoyed it. I really love Broadway musicals and it has been a long time since I’ve seen the movie, so I didn’t really have any expectations for it. J., however, is a very big fan of the movie, and somewhat of a purist. So I don’t think he enjoyed it quite as much as I did.

Megan Mullally, who was Karen in Will & Grace and the only reason for watching said show while it was on, was awesome in her role. She played Elizabeth, Dr. Frankenstein’s girlfriend and her part in the show was definitely expanded from the original role in the movie. She had some great numbers and was really, really funny. The woman who played Inga was great, too. She had an amazing voice.

The guy who played Dr. Frankenstein was also the guy who played the crazy pharmacist from Desperate Housewives. And unfortunately, I could only see him as that guy. He didn’t really make this role his own. He tried a few times to imitate Gene Wilder, (who originally played Dr. F. in the movie) and sadly, he failed miserably.

But the effects and sets were good and it was definitely entertaining. I’m wondering if they might shave some time of it before it makes it to Broadway, though. Did I mention it was loooong?

So we didn’t get back to the hotel until nearly 11pm. We settled on room service for dinner, which honestly, is one of my favorite things to do when we stay in a decent hotel anyway. You have dinner served to you, can eat dinner in your underwear and watch TV, all at the same time. What is not to love?

Then we were up at 5am and back on a flight to LA. Less than 24 hours away from the girls, but it was so nice to have J. all to myself. And really nice to fly with no kids! I read two newspapers and two magazines and had a cup of coffee which I didn’t have spilled on me throughout both of our flights. That alone is a huge treat and something I take for granted when I travel with the girls.

All in all, very successful trip. And as always – good to go away, but better to come back.

5 Responses to “Anniversary Adventure – Part II”


  1. 1 michelle August 9, 2007 at 7:09 pm

    SO HAPPY that you had a great time. The girls are lucky to have such great parents. You can feel the love you have for each other in your fantastic girls.
    Welcome Back!

  2. 2 Matthew August 10, 2007 at 12:34 pm

    Sounds like lots of fun. How important to have that time together!

    I can’t imagine freaky Desperate Housewives pharmacy guy as Dr. Frankenstein. He just ain’t Gene Wilder…

  3. 3 Christina August 10, 2007 at 5:52 pm

    What an awesome time! I’m so glad you guys got to do that.

  4. 4 kcancio August 10, 2007 at 6:46 pm

    Again, happy anniversary. I’m glad you guys had a good time!

  5. 5 Laura McIntyre August 14, 2007 at 11:01 pm

    Aww sounds like a great trip, i love live shows to


Leave a Reply

