The final countdown

A.’s birthday is exactly less than one month away. I am, once again, in denial – she isn’t turning 2. She isn’t turning 2!

But I figured I had better get my act together and get a few invites out and organize a little party for my sweet little baby, who isn’t turning 2.

Today A. and I went on a little field trip to the PartyCity store to peruse the party theme offerings. My money was on Cinderella, Dora, Nemo, Mickey or Elmo – in that order.

We walked into the labyrinth of hideously colored, and overpriced birthday goods and our negotiations went something like this.

M: “What do you want for your birthday, baby?”
A: “Ahhhh, Puppy, Mama!”

Um. Great. She and E. have both been fascinated with all things puppy since we left Nana & Papa’s new puppy.

M: “No, I mean what kind of a birthday do you want? Look here’s Dora, Elmo, Mickey?”
A: “No Mama! Puppies! And kitties!”

Lo and behold, there are these themes that are called the Dog and the Cat. And they are kind of cute. And A. is crazy about them. But they seem too old for her. Aren’t kids her age supposed to like Blue’s Clues and Elmo?

Ugh. She is so convincing and so very adamant. She just wants puppies and kitties. None of the other themes could deter her. And it is her birthday, right? I was thinking that I would just get half and half of each and make it a kitty/puppy party. (Would that make it a kippy party or a putty party? Ha! It’s late and I’m amused very easily when I am low on sleep.)

Anyhow…we have the two themes above and then I also found these kitties and puppies at another site. A little harder to mix them, but they seem a little more “toddler-like.” I just don’t know. What do you think?

Please take this into consideration while you are pondering this earth-shattering dilemma. Although I don’t want to admit it, she is so very “2”in every way. Her own little dynamic, with her own little mind, that once made up, you cannot easily change. This is what we are dealing with here…

addie-boots.jpg

Yep. This is how we went out of the house today. She was dressed in a very cute little jean skirt and matching shirt. Then she demanded pigtails, which ok, I happen to love on her, so that wasn’t so bad. But then she HAD to wear the boots and the Cinderella skirt, too. We are talking foot-stamping, demanding requests on the brink of full-on tantrum.

This is not a girl who is going to take anything other than puppies and kitties for her birthday.

6 Responses to “The final countdown”


  1. 1 Nana & Papa August 11, 2007 at 7:33 am

    I’d vote for a “Kippy” party, actually those two Play(s) On Words were really quite good. Lack of sleep must work for you.

    How can you ever say no to that precious face, and piggy tails. The expression is priceless.

    Your favorite Target Store must have a bunch of “Hello Kitty” things to add in there don’t you think. The puppy on the plates etc in the link look just like Ffffwitz did when he was younger, so you’ll have to include that.

    Love,
    Papa

  2. 2 Christina August 11, 2007 at 7:28 pm

    I tell ya what, I’ll let you figurre this all out and do the organizing, and then I’ll steal all your idea for Nadia’s 2nd birthday party a couple months later. Because she’s all about the “Kippys” too! She has no interest in any cartoon characters or traditional toddler themes, but she’s nutso about cats and dogs.

    LOL at Addie’s creative outfit. It looks quite similar to some of the ones we’ve seen around here lately! Yesteday we went shopping with Daddy’s tie around her neck. :o)

  3. 3 Swistle August 14, 2007 at 4:29 pm

    Oh my, that is a cute baby who is not turning two! Look at the set of that face! She is not going to bend. Also, I like her fashion sense.

    What I think I’d do is either (1) pick the plates I myself liked best and present them with enthusiasm (“LOOK! HERE ARE THE KITTIES/PUPPIES YOU WANTED!! I GOT THEM FOR YOU JUST LIKE YOU WANTED!!”) or (2) show her all the possibilities and let her pick “either these kitties/puppies or these other kitties/puppies.” Danger, though: she might choose the kitties of one and the puppies of the other, OR say she wants ALL FOUR. Maybe you can go in on it with Christina and split the stuff!

  4. 4 Elisa August 14, 2007 at 7:47 pm

    Ahhh – this is the stuff great stories are made of…..for you to share with her later – when her super cool teenaged friends stop by – or her first boyfriend pops over to meet the “rents.” tee hee

    Adore the outfit!! Too precious for words! As for the kippys – I say let her pick whichever ones she wants and who cares if they match…okay – I do get that if they don’t match it is harder to scrap the photos (haha – that is what the matching thing is all about, right?). But how funny is it going to be to look back on the mismatch party and say, “I swear, A, you INSISTED on having this!!” Or she may look back at them and say, “Mom, that was so cool that you were okay with this!”

    Being farther away from planning a kippy party than I care to admit, I can look back with some hindsight and recognize that the times when I was able to “just go with it” for the kids were some of the best. Her joy over kippys may be short lived – but how fun to have gone along with it while it lasted.

  5. 5 Laura McIntyre August 14, 2007 at 11:06 pm

    What a big girl, i love you let her go out like that so fun. The party sounds great, go with what she wants i say 🙂


  1. 1 Crafty Tuesday « Barely Controlled Chaos Trackback on September 4, 2007 at 12:50 pm

Leave a Reply

