Crafty Tuesday

I have two different layouts of Ad’s “in progress” right now, well, really in pieces. I have all of the photos and papers I am going to use for her 1st Halloween and 1st Christmas, but I just haven’t had a minute to really put them all together. They are spread out all over my desk, (ha! I will not be taking pictures of our craft/playroom today.) just waiting patiently for me to get around to them.

Are we still on track? Hmm…we have 2 1/2 weeks before Ad. turns 2. Yikes. I think we’ll be close though. I have the major holidays, Halloween, Christmas and Easter to do still, and a few others. I need an all-day Saturday scrap and I could be done, I think.

I have been craftily (is that a word?) trying to plan Ad’s birthday party, though. Here is the invite I got done last week.

ad_invite.jpg

(click to big it…as always)

If anyone has any good ideas for a cake or “kippy” type foods, let me know! (1000th commenter gets a prize – don’t forget!)

I have also completed an invitation for a pool party for some neighbors and a few different flyers for others, so my crafts have been all computer-based the past week.

But my friend Elisa has been sharing her craftiness with me, but she doesn’t have a blog, (Yet! She needs one, so we need to work on her.) but you can see her layouts here and here. She did these albums for her son, John’s coaches. Each player has their own page. Pretty impressive, huh. Yeah. I’m off to get some more done on mine. Check out Kim – I’m sure she has some cool stuff to show today, too!

—–

Updated: Check out Kimmer, too! She has gifts that she made my girls. They have not left Em’s feet since we received them. Ad loves hers, but can’t get them between the right toes most of the time!

16 Responses to “Crafty Tuesday”


  1. 1 msscatter August 21, 2007 at 8:42 am

    It seems like this month’s issue of Rachael Ray has something in it . . . I’ll look at it when I get home and check it out for you.

  2. 2 Meesh August 21, 2007 at 9:45 am

    Adorable crafts as always.

    The problem with the comments is we know we aren’t close yet. You gave us the number you were at, and your blog counts the number of comments you are getting. So…unless you have hidden comments that come to you, we still have 10-15 more to go! But, I could post one word per comment until it is met. Would that count? 🙂

    Love ya-

  3. 3 Papa (or Dad) August 21, 2007 at 11:39 am

    Bean
    Have you ever had the “Puppy Chow Mix” I think you use Chex type cereals and Powdered Sugar. Then serve it from a (new) dog dish. And there’s also the “Kitty Litter” snack stuff. I can’t remember what you make it out of, but you put Tootsie Rolls in it for the effect, oh yeah and it’s served from a (new) kitty litter box.
    Those would be perfect snacks for the party.
    Love,
    Dad

  4. 4 carrievoris August 21, 2007 at 12:26 pm

    Yes, Meesh. We are at 991. But the problem is people post comments on old posts sometimes, too. It might be tricky for you to figure out which one is really the 1,000th. But keep checking back and leaving your one worders….maybe you’ll win 🙂

  5. 5 Colleen August 21, 2007 at 1:23 pm

    You are just too creative for me. The invitations are adorable.

  6. 6 Colleen August 21, 2007 at 1:25 pm

    Oh…. and I love those flip flops. I can see Addie having trouble. Zoe tries to wear my flip flops all the time… and was almost successful with her cousin Larisa’s flip flops. I’m so tempted to buy her a pair (can you really go wrong with $2 at target?) but I’m so afraid she’ll fall constantly but still insist on wearing them!

  7. 7 Kim August 21, 2007 at 1:38 pm

    LOVE those invitations. I need to get going on Will’s birthday party too… I’ve been thinking about it, but not quite found that deep desire to start anything. I really wanted to do a monkey theme, but couldn’t find any decorations that I like, so we may do baseball instead??? Who knows? I really can’t decide which could be part of my problem. I’ll work on Elisa some more. I told her how easy is to start a blog…. we’ll see

  8. 8 ksmcnulty August 21, 2007 at 2:30 pm

    Care, I have the “puppy chow” recipe your dad was referring to above. If you want to go with that and need the recipe let me know.

  9. 9 ksmcnulty August 21, 2007 at 2:31 pm

    And yes it is OH SO YUMMY!! But then again I haven’t found much chocolate I don’t like.

  10. 10 Elisa August 21, 2007 at 3:38 pm

    PUPPY CHOW was my first thought – but several others had it, too. II’ve had it made with chex cereal instead of cheerios…it is SO YUMMY (a Girl Scout favoirite) You can do it with or without peanut butter depending on allergies of guests.

    Love the idea of serving it out of a dog dish…..are you looking for crafts??? You could get some inexpensive bowls and some craft markers. The kids could decorate their own doggie dishes they can take home to be their special snack diishes.

    Many moons ago Melissa was invited to a doggie party and the host had little doggie ears cut out o fflet and put them in everyone’s hair with hair clips/bobby pins/something along that line. Add she painted their noses with a dot of black at the end. They would look very puppy like. Or you could paint on whiskers for kitties. Body crayons are great for this, not terribly messy and easy to wash off.

    Another quick craft could be some ribbon or felt cut into a thin strip with velcro at the ends that could be pet collars. Kids (or you ahead of time) could glue gems and such on them….maybe even a little bell on the kitty collars.

    Get a large coloring book photo of a doggie or blow one up and then either do pin the tail on the doggie or put the bone in the doggie’s mouth. Game pieces could be shaped like a dog bone and kids have to get it near puppy’s mouth.

    Oh – I am totally on a role here….anyone else out there got a theme for a party they need help with??? : )

    Kim – give me a few minutes and I might have some monkey ideas for ya!!!

  11. 11 carrievoris August 21, 2007 at 3:50 pm

    BEAUTIFUL! These are all GREAT ideas. Thanks, everyone!!

    Love the food ideas. Not entirely sure about the kitty litter one, Dad. Since I am the “pooper-scooper” of the house, that one might be a little too close to home. But the dog dishes, we are definitely doing that one! And I found a dog bone cookie cutter to cut out sandwiches with, too.

    I was thinking of crafts, but since 3 of the guests are not even 2 yet, I didn’t know how much they’d be able to do. But I think I’ll do the “ears” and “collars” and noses and whiskers, for sure! What ADORABLE photos we can get out of those, huh? And Em and I can do the collars and ears ahead of time.

  12. 12 ksmcnulty August 21, 2007 at 4:05 pm

    You notice I don’t have a lot of ideas, but I know familyfun.com is always a good site to check out for that one. They usually have cute cake ideas, too.

  13. 13 carrievoris August 21, 2007 at 4:11 pm

    That was it! That last comment, right there, above this one, was 1,000. Congrats, Kimmer. You win a gift card to either iTunes or Amazon…whichever you prefer!

    Congrats! And thanks all for playing along….

  14. 14 msscatter August 22, 2007 at 4:07 am

    I looked at my Rachael Ray last night and it was Poodle Pancakes that I read about. I knew it was something to do with animals. However, it does seem like I saw crafty ideas somewhere . . . I’ll keep digging in my magazines.

  15. 15 Christina August 22, 2007 at 7:53 am

    Those invites are ADORABLE!!! You are so clever. BTW, I am using you to plan my daughter’s birthday a couple months after Addie’s…I’ll just steal all your ideas. ;o)


  1. 1 Cancio » Blog Archive » Crafty Tuesday Trackback on August 21, 2007 at 9:05 am

Leave a Reply

