Sorry you asked?

The first chance I had to talk with J. yesterday happened over IM at nearly 6pm. It went a little something like this…

J: There? How was your day?
C: Mother of God, please tell me you are miraculously IMing and driving home at the same time and are only 5 minutes away.
J: Um…no. Sorry. Bad day?
C: Well, A. has not stopped screaming since she woke up from her alleged “nap,” one hour ago.
J: Yipes!
C: We are in a five-minute quiet interval currently because I threw together some scrambled eggs and toast, and they are both filling their heads right now. She took off her diaper during her “nap” and awoke amidst a puddle of pee.
J: Yuck.
C: I’m sure it wasn’t pleasant, but it has all been cleaned up (as has she) and she still insists on screaming. I don’t know what the problem is. But, how was your day?
J: Slightly less pee…

4 Responses to “Sorry you asked?”


  1. 1 Christina August 23, 2007 at 6:55 am

    Aw, I’m sorry you guys had such a bad day. :o( But if it’s any comfort, that sounds almost *exactly* like our Tuesday!

  2. 2 carrievoris August 23, 2007 at 7:08 am

    The funny thing is the rest of the day was actually not too bad, it was just the hours of screaming between nap and bedtime that was maddening!

  3. 3 Colleen August 23, 2007 at 10:38 am

    “C: Mother of God, please tell me you are miraculously IMing and driving home at the same time and are only 5 minutes away.”

    That’s exactly how I feel when the phone rings at 6:00 or so and caller id shows Nick’s work. He’s suppose to be home!!! Not calling to tell me he’s just leaving!!!!

  4. 4 Elisa August 23, 2007 at 4:57 pm

    I’m with Colleen on that one – when the phone rings around the time hubby is due home, I always cringe a little as I check caller id.

    “A little less pee…..” that made me giggle.


Leave a Reply

