Wonders Never Cease

You’ll never guess what I did today.

Go on, guess! I’ll wait. (Dum dee dum…)

Give up?

I cooked dinner.

Yep. (Somewhere in Culver City, J. just fell off of his chair. I promise it is true, J! Come home and see!!)

We also baked a batch of cookies, but anybody who is around us much knows that we bake on a weekly basis around here, so that really isn’t news.

But, today I made an actual dish, that required chopping of ingredients, simmering, and sauteing. As I was cooking I realized that I can’t remember the last dinner I actually cooked that didn’t involve just throwing together a salad, boiling yet another pot of “noonles” (noodles), or opening a Trader Joe’s frozen concoction.

So the “dish” is a recipe that J. cut out of the newspaper a few weeks ago (hmm…a subtle hint, perhaps?) – Wolfgang Puck’s End-of-Summer Soup, a bacon and corn chowder.

I’ll let you know if it was successful or not and post the recipe if it is.

The girls and I have also been working on the perfect peanut butter-oatmeal- chocolate chip cookie. We are on version number 4, I think. (No wonder the gym isn’t “working” as much as it used to.) I think this time we might have gotten it.

We’ll let you know on that one, too. We are going to have them for dessert, right after our real dinner.

4 Responses to “Wonders Never Cease”


  1. 1 Becky September 6, 2007 at 7:47 am

    So? How did your yummy homecooked dinner taste? And the cookies? Hope it was delicious!!

  2. 2 Christina September 6, 2007 at 8:06 am

    Well aren’t you just a regular Suzie Homemaker! So, how was it? Sure sounds yummy.

    I baked yesterday, too…but my brownies came out of a box. ;o)

  3. 3 ksmcnulty September 6, 2007 at 10:00 am

    Do tell — was it scrumptuous? Isn’t that just the best feeling (some nights) to have a home cooked meal and everyone tucked safely in your home? Hope it was wonderful.

  4. 4 arizaphale September 21, 2007 at 4:35 pm

    It’s an event when I cook too, but that’s because Himself usually does! Can’t afford frozen meals. Used to do them in the UK when I was on my own with the baby Angel. She got real meals and I got frozen.


Leave a Reply

