Can you spot the trend…

…in ALL of these pictures?

skirt_4.jpg

skirt_1.jpg

skirt_2.jpg

Ding, ding, ding. Gold star for you if you answered that they all contain an impossibly cute child.

BUT, extra credit for those of you that noticed she also happens to be sporting the (insert expletive here) “Cinderelly” gown. In. Every. Single. Picture.

This is actually the second Cinderella gown. Well, just the bottom half of the gown, if you want to get technical. She needs to wear it everywhere. For a few days it was the absolute first thing she put on in the morning and the last thing I peeled off of her before bath at night. She does get quite a few admiring glances and comments when we venture outside of the house. A few strange looks as well, but it really isn’t worth the fight. I simply let her wear it, it isn’t hurting anybody.

She also insists on putting it on herself. “I do it, I DO IT!” as she throws it over her head. She pulls it over her upper torso til it reaches her hips and then she pulls her arms through. Which I think was the demise of the first gown. The elastic was so stretched out that it wouldn’t stay up, yet she continued to wear it and just did everything right-handed since her left hand was busy holding the skirt up.

A few nights ago I told her I would fix it for her and suggested she wear the other little Cinderella bottom that we have. She was not very happy. The second, new skirt has a cute, little tulle overlay over the satin skirt. And she “don’t yike that!”

But then she figured out she could turn it inside out (yes, that means the itchy tulle is next to her skin) and it looked just like the first skirt. Now she has a “puffy” skirt.

So the new skirt has passed the very discerning fashionista’s test, and it is in heavy rotation. Well, I’m not sure if you can even say it is in rotation, it now goes to bed with her. She takes naps in it, she sleeps with it on at night, she only takes it off to bathe, or change her clothes that I insist she has to wear underneath it.

Yesterday, when she didn’t want to nap, and I think was a little bored, she took the skirt off along with her sweatpants, t-shirt, and pull-up. When I finally went up to let her out of baby jail, I opened the door, she was standing up in her crib. Naked. I said, “A. what are you doing?”

She looked down and then said with pure surprise on her face and in her voice, “Oh! Mama! I nakey!”

And she quickly reached down to put “Cinderelly” back on.

8 Responses to “Can you spot the trend…”


  1. 1 Nena September 20, 2007 at 5:53 pm

    HILARIOUS……….. this was the best thing that happened to me today. I laughed until, well …..you know 🙂
    Give those wonderfully beautiful girls hugs and kisses from me.
    After all she DOES make the most adorable ‘cinderelly’

  2. 2 Christina September 20, 2007 at 7:53 pm

    ROFL…that especially cracks me up that she wears it inside out. It looks like the headband is part of the required costume, too. She sure does make a beautiful Cinderelly!

    Nadia has not yet attache herself to one particular item of clothing….rather, she wants to change clothes every time she sees something new. Makes folding laundry interesting!

  3. 3 Laura McIntyre September 21, 2007 at 2:57 am

    Such a beautiful cinderella , she really is such a funny wee girl had me lol

  4. 4 Stacy September 21, 2007 at 7:36 pm

    Completely adorable, yes! I know what you…boy, do I know what you mean, but it is mosly my son and his two spiderman shirts. Can I tell you how much I despise these characters?? HOpefully it will be a short-lived phase for you. They seem to come and go for us.

  5. 5 Anna September 24, 2007 at 4:25 am

    So funny! I love the language–I don’t YIKE that, so cute!

  6. 6 Anna September 24, 2007 at 4:26 am

    Oh, and I meant to say, it is sharks here for us–three different shark tee shirts in VERY heavy rotation.


  1. 1 Getting a little crowded in here. « Barely Controlled Chaos Trackback on September 24, 2007 at 9:25 pm
  2. 2 Contest, Contest, Contest! « Barely Controlled Chaos Trackback on September 30, 2007 at 9:01 pm

Leave a Reply

