Let’s just say, all hypothetically speaking, of course.

Say you just got out of the shower, wrapped a towel around you, and then realized that the mountain of clothes you’ve folded over the past two days was still downstairs. So you figured you’d just run down quickly to get said basket and because it was only going to take a “sec,” your towel-clad body would be perfectly fine attire for the trip.

Then say, hypothetically, of course, as you were downstairs for that “second,” your doorbell rings. And, what if, there were a little window right next to your front door that also looks right into your living room where you happen to be bending over to pick up that mountain-pile-basket-o’-laundry. And what if, as you glance over your shoulder, you see two strangers looking right into your living room. They have a little bit of that “deer caught in headlights” sort of look, but instead of averting their eyes and slinking back out of your courtyard, they just sort of stand there waiting for you to open the front door.

Would you open the door wrapped in only a towel, if say, this were to happen to you?

(Let’s just say, it was a very large bath towel…not too indecent. But I will be using one of the three, hardly-ever-used robes for any trips outside of the bathroom from now on.) 

10 Responses to “Let’s just say, all hypothetically speaking, of course.”


  1. 1 Becky October 4, 2007 at 8:35 pm

    Um, hypothetically speaking? 😀 Good try there, Carrie! So, tell us, did you open the door?

    Hypothetically speaking, of course, I would have made a mad dash out of sight. Because you know, “out of sight, out of mind” and if I can’t see them, that means they never saw me to begin with. Right?

    On occassion I’ve been known to make a dash for certain things such as you did however, I’ve never been greeted by two strangers at the door. Thank goodness because I’d hate to have to administer CPR to the poor souls that I scared to death, with only a towel on! 😀

    So please…do tell the rest of the story!

  2. 2 Elisa October 5, 2007 at 4:39 am

    you see, I’ve got this friend who has this problem….me, oh dear, it isn’t me….it’s my friend……hypothetically speaking of course……

    So sorry to gigle and your indecency (tee hee), I mean the hypothetical situtation….but it was a funny – a very very funny!!!

    Hypothetically speaking, who on earth would be brazen enough to stand there and really expect someone to open the door clad in less than public attire? I do wish this fairy tale had an ending….so many unanswered questions….DO TELL – what did YOU do, I mean…err….what did your friend do in this uhhnnn, er ah, hypothetical situation?

  3. 3 Christina October 5, 2007 at 5:18 am

    Girl, you and your “hypothetical situation” have got me rolling in laughter. But now you’ve got to finish the story and tell us what you “hypothetical friend” did!

  4. 4 Colleen October 5, 2007 at 7:17 am

    In the situation where they already saw me… I would probably go over and just inch open the door. See what they want and then let them know that, obviously, now is not a good time. Because if I was somewhere where they hadn’t seen me…. I would just hide.

  5. 5 Colleen October 5, 2007 at 7:18 am

    Maybe that window needs some kind of blind? My parents had one made for the window next to their front door. Very nice.

  6. 6 Stacy October 5, 2007 at 10:15 am

    LOL! I have run downstairs in just a bra and undies before and I KNOW at some point someone is going to catch me…it’s just Murphy’s Law.

    If that had happened to me, I would go upstairs, change, and if they were still there when I was presentable I would see what they want. Most likely if you didn’t know them, they were solicitors, and who wants to open the door to them??

  7. 7 Kim October 5, 2007 at 5:29 pm

    I’m with Stacy, I’d put some clothes on. No, I take that back, I’d ignore them until they went away. After all, they just saw you in a towel. BTW… I’m always forgetting to bring my laundry baskets upstairs and run down in a towel all the time. Guess I ‘m lucky! Thanks for the laugh, though.

  8. 8 laura mcintyre October 6, 2007 at 11:20 pm

    I would proberly open and hide behind the door, but only if hiding was’t an option

  9. 9 msscatter October 10, 2007 at 5:11 am

    My house is completely in the woods, I can’t see my neighbors so I would have probably been nude. Glad it wasn’t me in that hypothetical situation.


  1. 1 Inquiring Minds… « Barely Controlled Chaos Trackback on October 7, 2007 at 9:08 pm

Leave a Reply

