Small Change Month 9 Wrap-Up / Month 10 Challenge

Okay, I’m really late this month. But I did complete Month 9’s challenge and I think it was one of the best but easiest challenges yet. To refresh your memory, last month’s challenge was to “pay it forward,” or do one thing every week this month completely out of the blue for a total stranger. I didn’t hear from anyone, did anybody do anything that would qualify this month?

I always try to park near a cart corral when I visit Mecca (a.k.a Target) or the grocery store when I have the girls, so I don’t have to leave them in the car to return a cart. I have a bit of a little routine, Em climbs in the carseat, while I put Addie in her seat, and then I unload the cart, and one day, before I even had all of our bags unloaded, a friendly guy offered to take my cart to the corral for me. (That day I happened to be pretty far from the corral, so the cart may have not gotten back into the corral.)

It was such a simple thing, but really it did help and brightened my day just a little. So this past month whenever I was without the girls, I tried really hard to return the favor for those moms that needed an “extra hand” in the parking lot. I was able to do it on two different occasions.

I also made sure to offer a smile or kind word to any Mom who had a screaming, tantrum-throwing, or just whiny child out in public. It is so easy to complacent and smug when my girls have been really good in public lately (knock on wood), but I remember the day A. had a complete meltdown in the grocery store and that nice lady who asked, “Is she two?” with a knowing smile. Just a simple question, but it put everything in perspective and helped me deal.

Both of these things I really want to continue to do and this month’s challenge is another one I already do, so it will be an easy month for me. This month’s challenge is to go Green. Reduce, Reuse, Recycle – do what you can to help the poor Earth. Since our town doesn’t do curbside recycling, I had to find a place to take all of our recycles, and this place recycles EVERYTHING. So I have been a bit of a trash-nazi lately. My goal has been to have only one bag of garbage a week. We are currently at 2, and holding. But now that little Miss A. only uses 1 diaper or so a day, I might be able to do it. So that’s my goal for the month.

Are you in?

7 Responses to “Small Change Month 9 Wrap-Up / Month 10 Challenge”


  1. 1 Papa (or Dad) October 5, 2007 at 7:49 am

    I’ve waited so long to hear you say “GO GREEN” it really wasn’t so bad was it?

    Dad

  2. 2 Aunt Laura October 5, 2007 at 10:03 am

    I don’t think your “Go Green” and Dad’s “Go Green” are one and the same but they both work. I do both “Go Green”s myself.

  3. 3 Jackie October 5, 2007 at 11:20 am

    I’ve been also trying to do this for a while and luckily since we live in Germany (very earth-friendly, you can’t even let your car run idle in a traffic jam for 15 minutes without fear of a ticket, or pre-start your car in the winter- ok, that is a bit annoying) but anyhow- recycling has been easy to do out here as there are paper and “other” bins right outside every other apartment complex. So once every 2 weeks we have about a bag of trash (keep in mind, its 2 of us not 4!)

    Anyhow, I’d like to be better. And it sounds like a perfectly good thing to focus on this month. I’m working on buying only earth-friendly cleaning supplies, bath supplies, dog supplies… and it is a bit expensive to start up on all that, but its so much nicer using things that are both kid, enviornment, and dog! safe. Drugstore.com is where my friend gets her cleaning supplies, etc. and I’m going to try and be more self concious of all things natural this month.

    Wow, very long comment! But, go you and I’ll try to be as good and consumer-informed as I can 🙂

  4. 4 carrievoris October 5, 2007 at 1:33 pm

    No, Aunt Laura – It definitely wasn’t what I had intended 🙂 but if it makes my dad feel better and get over his bitter disappointment that his child went to UM, well, I’ll just let him think that!

  5. 5 Kim October 5, 2007 at 5:23 pm

    We’re in. You know we already recycle. I’m going to look for another way we can be green this month.

  6. 6 Maya October 7, 2007 at 4:20 pm

    We did this with recycling too. You’ll be amazed how much less you throw out!


  1. 1 A Bloggy Day For The Environment « Barely Controlled Chaos Trackback on October 11, 2007 at 3:32 pm

Leave a Reply

