BlogAction Day!

Today is it.

action_234x60.jpg

I don’t want to get all preachy, you all know that I am a bit of a “tree hugger” (J. – you knew it before you even married me!), I could go on and on about this. And I know that you all know what you could be doing more of to help our Mother Earth. So I’ll just say, “just go do it!”

The three things we are working on improving around our house this month (and beyond, of course.):

1. Taking my reusable bags not only to the grocery store, but to Target, the drugstore, anywhere we go.
2. Turning off and using less water. When brushing teeth, “warming” the bath water up, etc. I know we can do better on this one.
3. Finding a detergent that I can live with that is good for the environment. I’ve been slowly replacing all of our cleaning products with biodegradable, natural ones. I have found the Trader Joe’s Refresh shampoo is great for J. and I. (And sooo cheap!) I like the Natural Baby Wash/Shampoo at Target, for the girls. And I like a lot of the Method cleaning products as Target as well. But, I really love my Tide. So I am making a concerted effort to find something else that I can use that is biodegradable, and acceptable.

Just a few things to think about as you make your Action lists:

-It takes 1,000 regular batteries to equal the life span of one rechargeable battery.

-On average a person uses about 2,200 paper napkins a year. If everyone used one less a day, landfills would have 1 billion pounds less paper per year.

-Because answering machines are on 24/7, they use more power in a year than laptops do.

-If 10 percent of all cell-phone users unplugged their chargers after charging their phones, we’d save enough energy to power 60,000 homes a year.

100 million trees are cut down each year, and 28 billion gallons of water are used, to create the approximately 4.5 million tons of junk mail in the United States. By joining a service like Greendimes, you can reduce your junk mail by 90 percent (and they plant 10 trees for you, too!).

All pretty simple things to do, right?

5 Responses to “BlogAction Day!”


  1. 1 Elisa October 15, 2007 at 10:28 am

    Nothing wrong with being a tree hugger! : )

    Great info – I had NO IDEA that cell phone chargers were using energy when they were plugged into the wall but not into the phone! Don’t you know, I make sure they are unplugged now! See – you made a difference already!

    I bought some reusable bags – that’s step 1. Step 2 is going to be actually remembering to take them with me! I will use your idea of keeping them in the car! Simple – yet brilliant!

    THANKS FOR THE TIPS!

  2. 2 Kim October 15, 2007 at 5:54 pm

    Did you get that list from Parenting? I totally read that article and after your post for this month’s little changes, I’ve made a concerted effort to start with unplugging my cell charger. The next little bit I’m working on is turning off the computer and peripheries at night. I keep forgetting, but I know I’ll get it one of these evenings. Maybe tonight!

  3. 3 Christina October 15, 2007 at 5:57 pm

    You go girl! Wow, those are some shocking facts. I’d never before thought about answering machines. I DO reuse my plastic bags, but I’ve been thinking lately I should get some canvas ones.

    Off topic…I wish we had Trader Joes around here. I have heard sooo many good things about that place!

  4. 4 MelodyA. October 16, 2007 at 3:10 am

    Gotta get me some reusable batteries.

  5. 5 Clark McNulty October 16, 2007 at 4:36 pm

    OK Care, I think it must be your fault that I am constantly walking into the bathroom only to discover that one of my children didn’t flush the toilet! Thanks for giving them the excuse that they were only trying to save water. Seriously though, I actually took my old cell phone battery back to the store, recycled my ink cartridge (toner?) in the fax machine when I got a new one, and helped sort out a huge dumpster for recycling at the Wal Mart I’m remodeling. Don’t tell anybody though, I wouldn’t want to hurt my image.

    SSSHHH.


Leave a Reply

