Countin’ down.

J. left approximately 10 minutes ago, and I am already counting down the days, hours, minutes until he comes back. (7 days, 20 hours, 32 minutes – in case anyone is counting along at home.)

After he left, it took several trips upstairs to reassure poor Emma. Daddy had told her that he would be home on Monday and she said, “Hey! Tomorrow is Monday!” After Daddy explained that it was next Monday, she just kind of fell apart. “I’m just sad that Daddy is leaving.”

So I did what any good Mommy would do. I basically bribed her and told her she could sleep with me for the night. And with that promise, she instantly fell asleep.

The one and only good thing about J.’s business trips is sprawling out in bed after the girls are all tucked in. Alone. And now I have a little bony bundle of elbows and knees to look forward to tonight.

Ugh. Yeah, I think it may be a very loooong week.

2 Responses to “Countin’ down.”


  1. 1 armywifeforlife October 22, 2007 at 2:34 am

    hang in there 🙂 I’m sure they can be a handful when he’s away but it’ll just make you appreciate the entire family being all together again. (And yes, the bed alone can be a wonderful thought.)

  2. 2 Christina October 22, 2007 at 6:19 pm

    Awww Carrie, here’s hoping the week flys by and your man is back at your side before you know it!

    I always like the idea of Nadia sleeping with us…but then once she’s there it is much less sweet and cuddly than I imagined!


Leave a Reply

