Fires All Around.

I have been a bit oblivious of all the fires going on around here. Well, not completely oblivious, I knew there were some wildfires in Malibu, (But who didn’t? that is where all the “stars” live, so it is covered, of course.) but I just don’t watch the news. I used to be addicted to the 6 o’clock news until one day when Em was a wee babe, we were watching the news and coincidentally enough, there was coverage on a house fire and she was intrigued and scared by it all at the same time. I realized then and there that she was old enough to comprehend stuff on the TV, and I was still able to protect her from seeing some of the bad stuff. And then after we moved to LA, the local news programs are SO ridiculous, Britney is the lead story? I mean, seriously. So we just don’t watch the news in our house anymore.

I try to skim the morning newspaper or news online when I can, but I honestly get a lot of the happenings and highlights from J. He is very good about current events in the “outside” world. And I keep him on track with the current events inside the household. It is a pretty good arrangement. And I love his condensed version so much better. The week in review in ten minutes? That I can live with.

But, he is away this week. Can you see where this is going? Yeah, I’m just trying to keep our little world in balance here and haven’t really stuck my head out for air in the past three days. So when Denise called last night to tell me she was trying to get back but wasn’t sure if she would be able to because of the fires, I decided I had better check up on all of this.

Cripes! There are 16 different wildfires going on right now. Two people have died, and over 1100 families have been evacuated. There are fires going on in literally every direction from our home. The major ones are still pretty far away, to the south and north of us. But the ones that are close, about 30 miles just to the east of us, are pretty good-sized. And I just found out a friend’s cabin is being threatened. Although it isn’t as frightening as being evacuated from your home and being told to just “wait-and-see” – still, it is downright scary.

So I am sitting here looking at the oddly orange-hued haze that has blanketed our valley and thinking about all those families who are hoping for some relief. And praying it comes soon.

——————
Edited:
I went out to the car after I finished writing this (and doing some work, too!) and I couldn’t figure out what was all over my car. It was ash from the fires. That is a little too close for comfort.

8 Responses to “Fires All Around.”


  1. 1 Christina October 23, 2007 at 7:09 pm

    sitting here 2000 miles away in safety, I too have been somewhat oblivious to the fires. I knew they were happening but not the extent. Lord have mercy. Prayers for all

    But it’s not just there that Brittney is the lead story. Craziness!

  2. 2 Becky October 23, 2007 at 7:21 pm

    Praying that the fires cease very quickly for those who are dealing with the devistation of losing their homes and belongings. Hopefully they won’t get any closer to you either!

    Thinking of you!

  3. 3 Elisa October 23, 2007 at 7:42 pm

    Those fiires take on a life of their own. While J is away this time, you’ll be stuck monitoring the “outside world”….I pray you are all safe and secure there!

    There is a great webiste called FlyLady.net that has lots of great advice on developing household routines that have all sorts of benefits. Why I bring it up here is that she also has an amazing section of Emergency Preparedness….be it evacuating your home, dealing with loss from flood, storms, etc…. It has outlined for us all the things that are the most important to take and how to get those things together- ultimately knowing where they are at all times so they can be grabbed when you need them. For those in crisis at the moment, it will help you to focus and take the things you most need….important papers, medications, emergency bag for each family member, etc. If you have time, please check out the website and prepare yourself – even if you are not in the midst of the fires.

  4. 4 carrievoris October 23, 2007 at 8:32 pm

    Thanks for the thoughts and prayers, ladies. I think we are safe, but it does make you feel horrible for being so thankful when people are just 30 miles away losing their homes and livelihoods.

    We have been talking about an emergency kit however and I bought one this evening. Enough coulda, shoulda, woulda. This weekend I plan on going through our camping supplies and making sure the things we could use in an emergency are in an accessible bucket. And make sure our other stuff (numbers, accounts, addresses, etc.) is in order, too.

    It must be done.

  5. 5 msscatter October 24, 2007 at 4:13 am

    I was meaning to shoot you an email yesterday just to say “ummmm, are you in danger?” I pray you are safe.

  6. 6 Maya October 24, 2007 at 4:53 am

    I hope that you and your family, and your friends, are able to escape from the fires taken homes, etc. It makes you think!

  7. 7 Stacy October 24, 2007 at 5:29 am

    Carrie, I hope your home stays safe and that emergency preparedness sounds like a pretty good idea!

    My old boss had to evacuate his multi-million dollar house in Rancho Santa Fe. He said the fire was coming down the valley towards them, and they could hardly breathe outside, so he packed up his family and went to stay with his parents in Phoenix. He doesn’t know if his house is still standing at this point. 😦

    Watching the news, it looks so scary and out of control with those winds.

  8. 8 Rosey October 24, 2007 at 11:16 am

    Carrie,
    I know how you feel…It’s very luminus outside today and this heat makes it even more eerie. We’re down by the beach (SoBay area) and we have a layer of ash over everything & can smell the smoke in the air. It’s up to 16 fires burning and over 500,000 people evacuated from thier homes and over 1500 homes destroyed. Worst of all, some of these fires are arson! Sick people in the world. I have friends both north and south that have been directly affected. Plus my hubby works in Valencia and had a difficult day up there. He’s still feels like he has ash in his lungs.
    It’s so sad. We are keeping this in our prayers.


Leave a Reply

