First Born ~ Best Shot Monday

She is opinionated. She has a fierce independent streak. She has a hugely stubborn attitude. She is a bossy big sister.

She is exactly like me.

I see myself in her expressions. I hear myself in her voice when she speaks.

She inspires me to be a better Mommy, a better, more patient person. I have to be. For she is always watching. Always imitating.

She is my first born.

dsc_0017.jpg

But every once in awhile, I get to see her as simply a sweet little four-year old. Just a precious little kid running free, with all of that “first born” stuff tucked safely away. It always brings a smile to my face, and makes me so thankful that she is (and always will be) my first baby.

Make sure to stop over to Tracey’s and see what is inspiring everyone else this fine Monday.

21 Responses to “First Born ~ Best Shot Monday”


  1. 1 ksmcnulty October 29, 2007 at 4:27 am

    It seems as though us first born mommy’s find our first born girls to be one of the biggest challenges, yet as you stated so eloquently the most rewarding and gratifying! Great Shot!!

  2. 3 Colleen October 29, 2007 at 5:38 am

    Such a beautiful post… and a gorgeous shot.

  3. 4 Maya October 29, 2007 at 6:23 am

    I love the face she’s making and that you captured it too!

    I hope to have another child one day so I can see how my first born’s personality shines with a sibling.

  4. 5 carey October 29, 2007 at 7:24 am

    what a beautiful little girl you have!!! (and oh my goodness, she looks so grown up!)

  5. 6 MelodyA. October 29, 2007 at 7:50 am

    And she is beautiful! Love those big brown eyes. My first born is very much like me, too. I was also a first born.

  6. 7 Brittany October 29, 2007 at 9:37 am

    What a precious little girl she is. SO cute. Don’t you just love those first borns. Mine is sassy too, just in boy form!! πŸ™‚

  7. 8 Amy Jo October 29, 2007 at 10:17 am

    I love all the softness in her hair! She’s lovely!

  8. 9 Stacy October 29, 2007 at 10:39 am

    Oh, that is so sweet! Great shot, too! I totally know what you mean about the imitating. We really have to watch ourselves now, don’t we?

  9. 10 Christina October 29, 2007 at 11:59 am

    What a sweet post, Carrie! It truly is amazing to see little bits of oursevles in our babies. She is gorgeous. And wow, her hair looks silky soft.

  10. 11 Rosey October 29, 2007 at 1:41 pm

    What a wonderful picture and I love what you wrote about her, too!! A beautiful tribute.

  11. 12 Crunchy Domestic Goddess October 29, 2007 at 3:03 pm

    what a gorgeous shot and beautiful girl. i love your words as well. my oldest is always watching and listening too. certainly keeps ya on your toes.

  12. 13 Melanie October 29, 2007 at 3:45 pm

    Beautiful! I love your portraits.

    I have one of these in a similar make, 3 year old model. She is an alpha bossy first born (first born of two first borns PLUS the first born grandchild on both sides).

    Some days are such a struggle, but I console myself with the thought that no one will ever walk all over her. I hope.

    Here’s to hard-headed women.

  13. 14 Erinne October 29, 2007 at 5:11 pm

    She is stunning as is the photo.

  14. 15 Dawnomite! October 29, 2007 at 5:24 pm

    She is beautiful. I’m a firstborn too. It’ll be interesting to see what my baby girl copies in me also as she gets older.

  15. 18 Matthew October 31, 2007 at 11:10 am

    It never ceases to amaze me how much she looks like her pretty mommy! I usually struggle to see family resemblance with young kids, but not with her!

  16. 19 Victoria Cook April 21, 2009 at 12:57 pm

    I so resonate with what you said! I too am a FBG. So many of our good charactaristics taken to the extreme get us into trouble! πŸ˜‰ I have a son who is also a high achiever and strive to be more patient and a better Mom for him too! Thanks for sharing!!

  17. 20 fajerwerki December 13, 2009 at 3:12 pm

    I just want to tell you that your blog is very interesting, bookmarked


  1. 1 Crafty Tuesday « Barely Controlled Chaos Trackback on March 18, 2008 at 1:19 am

Leave a Reply

