Thankful ~ Day 13

Today I am thankful for “cuddles” with Emma. The few nights J. was away this week, Em ended up sleeping with me in “the big bed.” I complain rather loudly about sleeping with her, but really it is all for show. I love it when she sleeps with me. It means I don’t get to stretch out and take over the bed. It means I don’t get to read before I turn in. But, besides J., there is nobody else in the world I would rather snuggle with than Emma.

Her sweet, hot breath on my cheek. Her little, contented, sleepy sighs. Even the feel of her pointy little feet in my ribs. They are all happy reminders that she is there. And I know she is just as happy to be next to me, as I am next to her.

Last night J. was coming home, so I had to put her to bed in her own bed and I was just a wee bit sad. But we “cuddled” a bit in her bed and as I was hugging her, I told her “I love you.” Then she ran her hand through my hair, clung to me tightly and whispered, “I love you so much, Mama.” I am so thankful for those miraculously sweet cuddles and whispered proclamations. It is those things, those cherished, breathtaking moments, that nobody can ever fully prepare you for.

5 Responses to “Thankful ~ Day 13”


  1. 1 Elisa November 9, 2007 at 4:40 am

    Those moments are truly breathtaking……
    What a blessing!

  2. 2 Stacy November 9, 2007 at 7:49 am

    They are beautiful moments aren’t they? I love cuddling with my kids, too, and I don’t think there is anything sweeter. 🙂

  3. 3 Maggie November 9, 2007 at 9:27 am

    That is so sweet! I love cuddles too.

  4. 4 Kim November 9, 2007 at 12:13 pm

    Oh so sweet! Why is it that neither of my kids sit still long enough for a good cuddle? Who am I kidding, even the quick little hugs are great.

  5. 5 Christina November 9, 2007 at 1:53 pm

    So, so, sweet! Moments like that as so insensely wonderful. Ahhh!

    Nadia’s slept with us a couple times in the last few weeks, and while it is cramped and she has a tendency to steal my space…I love it!

    And wow, J’s been gone a lot lately! Hope he’s off the road for a while now.


Leave a Reply

