Thankful ~ Day 12

Today I am thankful for Saturday mornings. I have written about it before, but I love our Saturday morning “tradition.” We always go get bagels and coffee (Addie always says, “Nooo, big kids don’t drink coffee, Mama! Milk. Banilla (vanilla) milk!”) and just hang out as a family. It is my absolute favorite time of the week. Plus it is the start of the weekend. An added bonus.

I think I actually started loving Saturday mornings when I was a kid. My dad and I would watch Saturday cartoons and he would let me have “coffee” with him. Mine was a little “shot” of coffee and the rest was milk. (I turned out fine, don’t worry. No stunted growth here. For the record, we also never had car seats, would run and play outside for hours at a time, cram 4 kids to a seat on the school bus. Remember all the crazy stuff that we did when we were kids?)  I’m pretty sure that first coffee drink is the reason I like so much milk in my coffee to this day.

So today I am thankful for Saturday mornings. And this morning is also a “Football Saturday Morning.” I’m also thankful our team recovered from our miserable first two losses and having a great Big 10 season. Go Blue! 

What are you thankful for today?

5 Responses to “Thankful ~ Day 12”


  1. 1 armywifeforlife November 10, 2007 at 8:24 am

    Saturdays are the best!! And its been quite the chilly day here so I had a very, very lazy one. And to top the day off, PJ and I are suppose to have one of our 15 minute phone dates tonight!!!!!!! I can’t wait to hear his voice 🙂

  2. 2 rachel November 10, 2007 at 8:58 am

    How wonderful!!! Yep, we used to sit in the “back seat” of an old 1970 something pinto.. no carseats.. hell, no seatbelts.
    Ate sugary cereal and were gone from dawn til dusk and there were never any worries.

    Ahhh the good old days.
    We don’t have Saturday morning rituals.. but we do have Sunday ones 🙂
    I love your Thankful posts!

  3. 3 Elisa November 10, 2007 at 1:25 pm

    Thankful for a quiet weekend! As the kids get older, the activities just seem to eat up the calendar – weekdays and weekends, too. So this weekend, a minimum of activities on the calendar and some quiet hang out time at home. The Boy Scout popcorn we bought was delivered and that makes me think….MOVIE NIGHT!

  4. 4 Christina November 10, 2007 at 1:41 pm

    Your Saturday morning ritual sounds so wonderful! We always had a big Saturday morning breakfast growing up, and we used to do that ourselves too…but lately hubby’s been having to work most Saturdays. :o(

  5. 5 carey November 10, 2007 at 6:08 pm

    oh! your are a michigan fan just like my husband. we live in “enemy” territory- that doesn’t stop him though. he has a whole room dedicated to his favorite team.
    😦 they lost BUT 🙂 osu did too. he he!


Leave a Reply

