Thankful ~ Day 11

Yikes, I’m going to slide this one in today, right before I start on posts for tomorrow.

Today I am thankful for our weather here in LA.
When we moved out to California everyone would always ask – What did I miss? Did I miss the snow? And although I do enjoy snow on that first snowfall, and especially the two weeks around Christmas, I’ve found that I wouldn’t actually say I “miss” it.

But, it isn’t always sunny in LA. Okay, maybe 90% of the time, it is. But, take today – it was almost midwest “fall-like” weather. I’d always loved fall growing up in the midwest. The crisp days, breaking out the sweaters, that “chilly” smell that seems to be in the air, and of course the changing of the colors in all the foilage.

And we had all of that today. It was “sweater weather,” temperature in the 60s, even a little drizzle. Of course, we also spent part of the morning on the beach and are now curled up in front of a fire. We kind of have the best of both worlds here. I am thankful.

3 Responses to “Thankful ~ Day 11”


  1. 1 Erinne November 11, 2007 at 10:24 pm

    It’s colder than cold here – boo… So I’m a bit jealous – lol… 🙂 I would take “Fall” weather over this… HEE – my snow tires go on next week! YUCK. I like snow on Christmas Eve and Christmas Day then it can leave.

    We are however, headed to good ol California very soon – wahoo. So we can’t wait. I must admit it feels like home to me (although I have never lived in California or any US state for that matter).

  2. 2 Christina November 12, 2007 at 12:58 pm

    I love that crisp, invigorating fall weather, too! But where is it???? We’re in the high 80s today!

  3. 3 Elisa November 12, 2007 at 5:30 pm

    LA weather is pretty nifty – but it is TOTALLY WEIRD, after growing up the midwest, to be Chirstmas shopping without dropping your hats, scarves and mittens all over the place – and no boots! It was just plain odd…not too mention the out of place look the traditional Santas has in sunny LA but the equally odd look of tropical Santa in Hawaiian print shorts and shirt.

    FUN FUN!!!


Leave a Reply

