Thankful ~ Day 10

Today I am thankful for country music.

There, I’ve said it. I really do like all kinds of music and my iPod is a crazy, eclectic mix of stuff.

And maybe it is just my hillbilly background coming out, but there is something about those country songs. They make you stop, think, and realize how short our time on earth is.

I remember when I was pregnant with Emma,on a roadtrip to see my family, and I heard Kenny Chesney’s the Good Stuff song and bawled for a good 10 miles after I heard the part that goes –

Was the sight of her holdin my baby girl.
The way she adored that string of pearls,
I gave her the day that our youngest boy, Earl,
Married his high school love.
And it’s a new t-shirt saying, “I’m a Grandpa!”
Being right there as our time got small,
And holding her hand when the good Lord called her up.
Yeah, man, that’s the good stuff.

Okay, so I was pregnant. But man, that really is “good stuff.”

Or the time, sitting in my dining room with my mother-in-law and sister as we all cried to Martina McBride’s, In My Daughter’s Eyes. I still can’t listen to this part without tearing up –

In my daughter’s eyes I can see the future
A reflection of who I am and what will be
Though she’ll grow and someday leave
Maybe raise a family
When I’m gone I hope you see how happy
she made me
For I’ll be there
In my daughter’s eyes

Oh, there are a hundred more examples I could give. Tim McGraw’s, My Little Girl (definite tear-jerker when you have two little girls!) or Billy Dean’s, Let Them Be Little –

So let them be little,
‘Cause they’re only that way for a while.
Give ’em hope, give them praise,
Give them love every day.
Let ’em cry, let ’em giggle,
Let ’em sleep in the middle,
Oh, but let them be little.

I could go on and on.

And then I had the CMAs on last week while I was working and Kenny Chesney performed that new song of his, Don’t Blink.

That dude has some seriously good songwriters on his payroll.

Don’t blink
Just like that you’re six years old and you take a nap and you
Wake up and you’re twenty-five and your high school sweetheart becomes your wife
Don’t blink
You just might miss your babies growing like mine did
Turning into moms and dads next thing you know your “better half”
Of fifty years is there in bed
And you’re praying God takes you instead
Trust me friend a hundred years goes faster than you think
So don’t blink.

My mother-in-law called to make sure I had heard it and told me I had to watch the video. If you can watch that video without getting a little weepy, well…more power to you. But I can’t. I can’t even though I have already watched it a few times and know exactly what is coming up next.

After an especially long day, where I am counting the minutes til the girls will be in bed, um…kind of like yesterday, I only need to listen to one of these songs and it reminds me to slow down. Enjoy them while I can. So for that I am thankful.

7 Responses to “Thankful ~ Day 10”


  1. 1 Maggie November 12, 2007 at 5:35 am

    I am confessing to knowing (and liking) all of those songs. I listen to country too – those are some great songs!

  2. 2 Matthew November 12, 2007 at 6:30 am

    My wife sang In My Daughter’s Eyes in church on her second Mother’s Day. I don’t think there was a dry eye in the place. My parents were in town that weekend, and my dad really got choked up.

    For dads, another one is I Loved Her First, by Heartland.

    Look at the two of you dancing that way
    Lost in the moment and each others face
    So much in love your alone in this place
    Like there’s nobody else in the world
    I was enough for her not long ago
    I was her number one
    She told me so
    And she still means the world to me
    Just so you know
    So be careful when you hold my girl
    Time changes everything
    Life must go on
    And I’m not gonna stand in your way

    But I loved her first and I held her first
    And a place in my heart will always be hers
    From the first breath she breathed
    When she first smiled at me
    I knew the love of a father runs deep
    And I prayed that she’d find you someday
    But it still hard to give her away
    I loved her first

    Wow. I get choked up just reading through it again.

  3. 3 carrievoris November 12, 2007 at 7:31 am

    oh yeah! forgot about that one! it is the songs about “letting them go” someday that are the WORST!

  4. 4 Stacy November 12, 2007 at 8:02 am

    I’ll have to watch the video later at home (at work here reading blogs…bad me!). You are so right, though. Country music has the weepy song market, but I like that about it.

  5. 5 Christina November 12, 2007 at 1:13 pm

    Oh me too! Those are all awesome songs, some of my favorites. I especially love In My Daughter’s Eyes…and I hope You Dance. Interesting you mentioned all these now, as I am trying to deicde which one to use for Nadia’s 2nd Year monage. :o) Oh, and Jimmy Biffett’s Little Miss Magic is another great one.

  6. 6 carrievoris November 12, 2007 at 1:33 pm

    OH YEAH!! J. sings the Buffett song to the girls…it is one of his favorites!


  1. 1 Get free ringtone Trackback on May 11, 2008 at 1:30 pm

Leave a Reply

