Thankful ~ Day 8

Today I am thankful for the age, the stage, that both of the girls are at right now. Not that I ever want to be “free” of them, (I’m actually hoping they never want to leave their Daddy and I!) but I have a new-found freedom that just feels so amazing.

The girls beg me to “leave” them at the Gym’s Kid’s Klub. They practically push me out the door, the minute Denise shows up for the afternoon. They color sweetly at their table in the playroom for 20 minutes at a time.

Yes, a tiny piece of me is sad when I look at their baby pictures, they are so not babies anymore. And I do feel a little bit slighted some days when Mommy is pushed away. But, can I begin to tell you how heavenly it is to be able to “let them play” in the playroom while I grab a shower, throw in a load of laundry, and start the dishwasher. Yeah, yeah, yeah – apparently I shouldn’t leave Emma in the playroom with her safety scissors. But, honestly, isn’t a few cut bangs a small price to pay for getting a little break in the non-stop demand for entertainment?

I think so.

And they play so well together. Well, most of the time. I so love to watch them laugh and play together. That is why I was so happy to have two girls. Sisters. They will always have a best friend, no matter what.

When I do get included in their little “bond,” I’ve found that we seem to have finally found our groove. I know it has taken us over two years, but I think we are finally there. We all seem to know what our role is in our little family, and how to make it all work smoothly.

As we get ready to board the plane for Michigan this week, I am actually looking forward to traveling with the girls. We have reached that point where we are all in “sync.” Flying down the same path. We know how to handle the bumps and we are on our way to reaching so many new destinations.

For that I am thankful.

2 Responses to “Thankful ~ Day 8”


  1. 1 Stacy November 14, 2007 at 6:47 am

    I totally understand where you are coming from…I am in that place, too. We don’t need to be constantly watching them to make sure they don’t hurt themselves or get into stuff they aren’t suppose to have. They can play nicely with each other at times and are more independent. I miss that baby stage, too, but oh the FREEDOM! 🙂

  2. 2 Christina November 14, 2007 at 2:02 pm

    What a sweet post! How it must make your heart soar to see your girls growing in independence together, to have found that “groove” for the three of you. Nadia’s starting to reach that age of independence, too, and it is very freeing. I still can’t leave her alone for more than a few minutes, tho!


Leave a Reply

