Thankful ~ Day 2 and 1

I have been kind of “off the grid.” And that was my thankful for yesterday. As much as I tease Michelle and DJ (and pretty much all of our family in Michigan) about living in the “sticks” – it has been wonderful to just be away from everything. I’ve done the tiniest amount of work I could to get by, I’ve clearly been almost non-existent in my blogging, it has just been a nice break.  The girls are loving all of the “nature” they have seen. Addie is obsessed with the deer and turkeys that meander through the yard here. (Emma is more concerned that the turkeys are going to be the ones that end up on our table tomorrow.) I have had some great workouts with Meesh – the hills are killers here – and even though it has been chilly, it is so refreshing and nice to be able to see the stars and breathe clean air. Plus I have been able to see (or am going to see) all my best friends in the world!  

I am so thankful for our little “landing spot” right now.

And for today’s thankful, the last day before our Thanksgiving, I think it is only appropriate to say I am so, so very thankful for my family.

I am thankful for my parents for giving me life and loving and nurturing me always, and I’m so thankful to them for giving me a brother AND a sister to grow up with. I’m thankful for my brother Ken and for my sister, who will always be more than just a sister. And I’m thankful that she and DJ blessed us with three gorgeous nieces (Someday Ella…you will love your Aunt Bean! It may take a lot of spoiling, but I’ll win you over.). And for all of the grandparents, aunts and uncles that I had, and continue to have, supporting and loving me along the way.

And for my own little family, I’m so, so thankful to have J. He is the most amazing husband and father anyone could ever imagine, or ask for. I thank God for him every single day. (And I am thankful that I was given a second, extended family when I married him, complete with a mother-in-law that I LOVE, brothers and a sister and nephews, too!) 

And last, but certainly the best, I am so thankful that J. and I were blessed with the best gift God has to offer. Not once, but twice. They are amazing little girls.

Really no amount of words can describe just how thankful I am today. 

8 Responses to “Thankful ~ Day 2 and 1”


  1. 1 Elisa November 21, 2007 at 7:11 am

    HAPPY THANKSGIVING TO YOU and YOUR FAMILY

  2. 2 Becky November 21, 2007 at 1:46 pm

    Yes, you do have so much to be thankful for. Enjoy your time with the family. Happy Thanksgiving.

  3. 3 Maggie November 21, 2007 at 4:58 pm

    Happy Thanksgiving to ALL of you – enjoy your time together!!

  4. 4 Stacy November 21, 2007 at 8:03 pm

    That sounds like a great reason to be thankful! 🙂 I hope you are having a wonderful time there (sounds like you are) and have a great Thanksgving!

  5. 5 Kim November 22, 2007 at 1:07 pm

    Glad you guys are enjoying your vacation! We are getting so excited!! We’re getting everything ready for you!! And counting down the days.

  6. 6 Kim November 22, 2007 at 1:08 pm

    Hope you’re having a great Thanksgiving!!! Lauren’s a little worried about who’s gonna have to kill all the turkeys.

  7. 7 Christina November 23, 2007 at 7:32 pm

    What beautiful words of Thanksgiving! I’m glad you are enjoying your time with family and friends, and a little escape from fast-paced life. Happy Thanksgiving from my family to yours!

  8. 8 MommyBrain November 24, 2007 at 4:34 am

    Happy Thanksgiving – what a beautiful post!


Leave a Reply

