Daddy’s Turn

We city girls were so excited to see these nearly every morning in my sister’s backyard.

deer.jpg

These little beauties were passing through during our Thanksgiving dinner. I still don’t know how people look into those big, brown eyes and then shoot them.

On our way up to Michigan last week we (the girls and I) were talking about how Alexis (the girls’ cousin) had gone out “to catch a deer” with her Daddy the day before we got there.

E: “So when they catch a deer, Mama? Do they tie them up?”
(Before I can answer – I’m taking a long time because I am trying to figure out how to answer this, and wondering if she had maybe seen a deer “hanging” up after it had been shot, she answered her own question. Sort of.)
E: “Oh, maybe they will just tie them up in the yard. Then they can all stay in the yard.”
(Then I realize that she thinks they are just going to “catch” the deer, like roping a horse or something.)
M: “Mmmmm…I don’t think that they actually catch the deer, baby. Um…”
E: “But some people eat the deer? Right, Mama?”
M: “Yep. Some people do eat the deer meat for food.”

So she does “get” that people eat the deer for meat. I think that the whole “where meat really comes from” is a difficult concept for kids to figure out. I didn’t really know how to tackle the fact that her hamburger comes from a cow.

But J. is very adamant that since we have all girls, he is absolved from the difficult girl talks and I “get” to do all of those talks. So I think it is only fair that he should get to tackle this one, right?

8 Responses to “Daddy’s Turn”


  1. 1 MelodyA. November 25, 2007 at 8:35 am

    Ya know, I don’t know that I ever said, “hamburger comes from cow.” But somehow my 6 yo figured it out. I’m always caught between being honest and keeping the magic.

  2. 2 Becky November 25, 2007 at 10:06 am

    That sounds like a perfect task for J. We were always honest about it with the kids. But then again, they grew up around it so they never gave it a second thought. 🙂

    Hope your enjoying your time together.

  3. 3 maya November 25, 2007 at 11:28 am

    How funny that she figured that out. What a treat to see those beauties during Thanksgiving dinner!

  4. 4 Stacy November 25, 2007 at 11:47 am

    Great shot and so neat that they got to see the deer so close.

    I come from a hunting family, but never wanted to participate myself. I don’t have a problem with them doing it, though. I haven’t had to field those questions, yet, but I don’t really look forward to it!

  5. 5 Christina November 25, 2007 at 6:40 pm

    First of all – LOVE your holiday blog deisgn!!!

    Seond – yeah, I think I’d be leaving that one for hubby, too! I prefer my meat wrapped up in neat little packages at the grocery store…I think I’d go vegetarian if I had to butcher my own meat. But that’d never fly in this house – V is a die-hard carnivore! so awesome that the deer visited you.

  6. 6 Maggie November 25, 2007 at 7:17 pm

    I agree with Christina – I LOVE your new header! It’s adorable!!

    The shot of the deer is great – and I agree with you, Jay totally gets to have this talk…fair is fair!

  7. 7 arizaphale November 29, 2007 at 3:02 am

    I remember a phase when the BA and her little friends used to ask us at every meal ‘which animal’ the food came from!!!
    “Is this pig meat Mummy? Or is it sheep meat?”
    (we didn’t eat beef cos of the mad cow disease)
    It was most disconcerting as I don’t like to think about where my meat comes from when I’m eating it!!!

  8. 8 arizaphale November 29, 2007 at 3:02 am

    Oh and I was going to say ‘cute new header’ too!!


Leave a Reply

