Dance, Dance, Revolution

It has taken me nearly a week, but I was finally able to get some photos and videos from the “Big Recital Saturday.”

I will warn you, Addie’s first recital is very difficult to watch. Well, it is for me. It breaks my heart a little every time I watch it. I relive the pure “Mommy panic” all over again.

Let’s just say that poor Addie – yes, the Addie that is a complete “ham” on any given day, the Addie that thrives in the spotlight of our little home, the Addie that throws herself into pretty much any situation – that Addie did not show up to the recital. She did NOT see, or feel, the allure of the stage.

It is very hard to watch your child in obvious distress and to hear her say “No Mommy, I dohwanna it. I dohwanna.” I just wanted to run up on stage and snatch her up. I managed to control myself and let her tough it out, but I think that maybe dance, at least performing in front of people, is not going to be Addie’s forte.

Addie’s Video:

But tell me she isn’t adorable! Especially next to the big, doofy kid that is blocking her view of Miss Claire, and practically stomping on her. Several times.

Emma, on the other hand, had another great recital. She definitely feels the “dance.” And she knew the dance – she didn’t even need to watch Miss Claire, she knew what was coming next.

But I’m having problems with her video – I’ll work on it today and see if I can get it to play correctly. And I’ll update it as soon as I can.

I find the whole thing a strange juxtaposition. Addie being very outgoing in everyday life, becomes very timid and unhappy in front of a crowd, while Em, who is actually a little cautious and shy normally, truly thrives in the spotlight. Very interesting.

Here are some photos of Em to tide you over til I can get the video up. This is my favorite photo of Em, composing herself before the dance started…

say_a_prayer.jpg

And in good form…

bellaballerina.jpg

And my other favorite photo, Addie giving Em her flowers –

flowers.jpg

Happy weekend!

9 Responses to “Dance, Dance, Revolution”


  1. 1 Papa (or Dad) December 21, 2007 at 11:04 am

    AB-SO-TUTELY GORGEOUS!!!
    Emma couldn’t look any prettier, or more prepared, can’t wait to see her video.

    And Addie did the best hand clapping of the bunch, probably if Doofus and his size 13 shoes wasn’t in her way she would’ve had a better idea of what to do. . . it’s not her fault. Next time have her down by one of the little ones one the other end.
    Loved it,
    Papa

  2. 2 Maggie December 21, 2007 at 11:11 am

    Addie looked beyond adorable!! Performing might not be her calling, but she sure looked great doing it! And Emma looks so great too! I have to agree, I can’t wait to see her performance!

  3. 3 Colleen December 21, 2007 at 3:16 pm

    The girls both looked adorable in their little tutus!!!!

  4. 4 Kim December 21, 2007 at 8:41 pm

    Oh… my heart just ached for Addie as I watched the video! I wanted to reach up there and save her myself. I’m not sure how you did it. At the very least she was the cutest little one up there.
    Of course, Em looks beautiful as always.
    (nice tutus)

  5. 5 arizaphale December 22, 2007 at 4:45 am

    Oh oh oh. This is the most beautiful and heart rending post. I was right there with you. At 3 the BA told me in no uncertain terms that she was NOT doing her ballet concert as she ‘Didn’t want all those eyes looking at her’. I can see Addie going ‘No, no, no’. Good for her for sticking to her guns. She wasn’t doing it and no-one was going to make her!!! I must say that dance teacher shouting like that would put ANYONE off. (sorry, I’m sure she is very nice). The most heart rending part for me though was your face when you picked her up. If it’s any comfort, after an inauspicious start, the BA loves performing nowadays. Emma’s photos are beautiful and I can’t wait to see her movie.

  6. 6 Elisa December 22, 2007 at 6:09 am

    BEAUTIFUL!!!

    The strange juxtaposition is not really so strange…..lots of performers say they are really shy.

    Either way – it’s all wonderful!!!
    We didn’t make it past parent day when my dear (now 16) year old daughter was in ballet – totally freaked! It was in the dance room and all the mirrors made the 25 parents look like 225 people and she was DONE! Never got close to the recital. Now, she can stand up in front of anyone. She’s danced in front of hundreds of people, cantors at church and sings & dances in front of very large groups and L O V E S it!

    Ya just never know.

    Did I mentione HOW B E A U T I F U L?

  7. 7 Christina December 22, 2007 at 6:33 pm

    Oh poor Addie! I wanted to scurry up there and rescue her too. She looked asbolutely adorable and beautiful, tho! And Em, oh my, she’s a natural, isn’t she?! The tutus are beautiful. And I love Ad’s little bottom in the last picture. :o) If I didn’t already have a girl of my own, this post would have me aching for one!

  8. 8 MommyBrain December 22, 2007 at 9:36 pm

    Loved the video of Addie! She looked so cute. I’m sure the shyness is just a phase and that big kid next to her did not help at all. When I watched I just wanted to walk up and shove him aside. 🙂 Em is beautiful and I can’t wait to see her video.

  9. 9 Stacy December 26, 2007 at 10:56 am

    Well, it looks like our outgoing girls did the same things at their recent performances…just stood there and looked cute! 🙂 Emma looks so poised, and it looks like she did a great job in her performance.


Leave a Reply

