Christmas let-down

The day after Christmas.

Is it just me, or does everybody feel that “let-down” after all of the excitement is done and over with. We had a wonderful day yesterday. I have many photos to share, but I’m trying to finish up a project, so I’ll filter them out to you in the next few days.

I will share a few of my favorite moments from yesterday:

When we were walking down the stairs to see if Santa had visited our house during the night, I asked Addie if she was excited, and she responded with her entire body. She shook her head, but she tightened her legs and arms around me so tightly she was practically shaking. And then I heard Em whisper (she was ahead of me holding J.’s hand), “Oh. Daddy. A puppy alarm clock. It is what I always wanted!” She whispered it so quietly and so sweetly, between that and Addie’s ability to barely contain her excitement, it nearly made me cry.

One of my favorite gifts was an ornament that Em made for me at school. She was so proud to give it to me all wrapped up on the last day of school last week. And so excited that I “couldn’t know” what was in it. She brought it over to me so carefully, knelt before me and said –

E: Here, Mama – now you can open my gift.
M: But, the card said “To my family” – should we all open it?
E: No, I want it to be for you.

Yeah, I got teary-eyed. It was a beautiful gift and even more beautiful because she made it and was so proud and excited to give it to me.

em_ornament.jpg

4 Responses to “Christmas let-down”


  1. 1 Maggie December 27, 2007 at 3:52 am

    That is so sweet! And that is a beautiful ornament that she made!

  2. 2 ksmcnulty December 27, 2007 at 7:01 am

    So sweet. I now know why my mom and MIL love their homemade ornaments. Each year, I accumulate a few more that the kids have made me and they are by far MY FAVORITES to put up each year. Enjoy and know you will have SO MANY more sweet homemade ornaments with compliments of Em and Addie.

  3. 3 Christina December 27, 2007 at 12:14 pm

    Oh I can almost imagine how you felt at those precious moments! How wonderful to see not only your girls joy at recieving, but also their joy in giving. They have fund the true Christmas spirit!

  4. 4 arizaphale December 31, 2007 at 8:56 pm

    Christina often says exactly what I was thinking so I’ll just say ‘ditto’!! I don’t feel a let down after Christmas anymore, in fact it is now my favourite time of year. I have no pressures on me and time to just sit down and enjoy my presents (in this case…I’m reading Harry Potter!!!) and my family.


Leave a Reply

