New Year Resolutions – The Five Year Plan

Happy New Year! I love the start of a new year. Although I constantly feel like life is just flying by, I like the feeling of accomplishment, closing a chapter, opening a new book – full of promise and hope.

Which, of course, is why we all make “resolutions” right? Things we want to accomplish or change on the fresh, blank page of our life. I think I just realized that my resolutions are clearly works-in-progress that are going to take longer than just one year to resolve. I just went through and read my resolutions for 2007. I can honestly say that I’m working on all of them, but none of them have been accomplished. I think I just need to fine tune last year’s resolutions and have more concrete examples of things I’d like to do. Break them down into tangible, easy to-dos and then I can make an actual list and cross them off as I do them. (That is one of my favorite things to do. I am a total “list person,” and crossed-off to-do lists give me what I call an “accomplishment high.”)

Here was my 2007 list, revised for 2008 (or the next few years…)

Become more organized and efficient with my time, thus giving me more time to blog, scrapbook and do fun stuff with the girls.
I don’t think I’ll ever be fully organized enough to be able to do all I want to do. Instead this year I am going to do the following:
-Make a list of the closets/cupboards/areas that need to be organized.
-Organize one space of the house each week. (Cross it off the list!)
-Block out two hours a week when I can sit and scrapbook. Alone. Would love more time, but I can’t be greedy.
-Get rid of the clients that it doesn’t “pay” to keep on. Some are just more work (frustrations, amount of hours spent revising their projects) than they are worth. It is time to move along on those.
-Make sure the girls get more outside, running around, just playing time. Each day. A lot of times we do a lot of running for errands, but I don’t just “run” outside with them.
-Organize birthday presents/cards the first week of each month so I am not late with any birthday wishes any more.

Lose 15 pounds, eat healthier, get the girls to eat healthier.
Eh. This one is clearly going to be ongoing. I think we are doing better on the eating healthier. We were just talking about this the other day when Emma asked for some hummus. What kind of kid asks for hummus? The girls do try everything, at least a bite, and they like healthy stuff like hummus, edamame (soybeans), avocado, broccoli – one of their favorite foods are these soy corn dogs that I get from Trader Joe’s. So I really don’t feel too badly about what they are putting in their bodies, if it just wasn’t such a fight to get it in. Anyhow, this year I am going to concentrate on:
-Running my triathlon in March.
-Sign up for one more race later in the summer.
-Swim, bike, run, 2x each, each week. One day of rest.
-Continue to eat more salads, at least one salad a day.
-Drink more milk for my poor old bones, at least one big glass a day.
-Cook one new healthy recipe a week. Um…make that every two weeks. We don’t want to get crazy here.

The one thing Iโ€™m going to work on the hardest is becoming a more โ€œmindfulโ€ mommy.
This one was by far the hardest to do, but we are definitely making progress. I was able to take more photos this year (thanks to impossibly cute girls), take more vacations (thanks to cute girls who have become great travelers), and in general do more exploring (thanks to a never-ending source of things to do in our new spot) than any year previously. And thanks to this blog, I have good documentation of all of our adventures.

I also…(I feel like this is my dirty, little secret) hired a cleaning company that comes in a few times a month. I felt so guilty about it at first. I mean – I work from home, I should be able to keep the house clean and running. And I can, but it takes far more time than I want to spend. Time I could be spending with my family. So the cleaning company stays. Plus I cannot describe the joy that I feel on those days they have been to our house. The entire house. All clean at once. That is worth all the money in the world. Plus I’m still picking up, and cleaning in between, far more than I would like.
So this one is a little harder to figure out some tangible things that I can do better this year. I guess for the first time in five years I don’t really have a baby in the house. No more late-night feedings, no more diapers, no more baby powder. But no, this doesn’t make me sad. I love babies, I really do! But I am loving this new-found freedom, too. I think that by making Mommy feel a little more like a woman, and less like a milk-producing, poopy bottom-wiping machine is really what is in the long run going to make me a better, more mindful Mommy.

So this year, even though it sounds counter-intuitive and a little selfish, in order to make a better Mommy, I am going to concentrate a little more on me:
-Make sure I get at least one yoga class in a week.
-Get a mammogram, and regular doctor check-ups
-Get my haircut more than two times this year.
-Have a date night with J. at least every third week. (Some months that will be 2x in one month! Wahoo!)
-Go to bed earlier so that I can read before bed. Therefore maybe finishing a magazine or book sometime.
-Take one day a month when I have Denise that I go to the coffee shop and not do any work. Maybe blog, maybe try to catch up on the blogs I want to read, maybe people watch or just stare at the wall. Just try not to cram work or errands into my few hours out.

Wow. This year’s list looks much more intimidating than last year’s.

What’s on your list?

7 Responses to “New Year Resolutions – The Five Year Plan”


  1. 1 Jenny December 30, 2007 at 2:35 pm

    That’s quite a list! My kids don’t eat anyhting for me – my mom got me the cookbook from Jerry Seinfeld’s wife called Deceptively Delicious. She purees foods and adds them to the recipes. Butternut squash in macaroni and cheese – beets in pancake mix for Pink Pancakes! Emily ate them up! You can puree and freeze so it is quicker when you need it! Good luch on all of your resolutions – it is quite a great list with a lot of thought. I’m going to go work on mine now! JEnny

  2. 2 Maggie December 30, 2007 at 4:11 pm

    I agree with you – I LOVE starting a new year. Well, really I love starting a new anything, because, hi, new – but a new year is the best. Well, for the first few days, then I remember that it is colder than anything in KS in January and the novelty wears off just a bit.

    I make an entire page (or more!) of resolutions, with the thought that I am bound to keep at least a few of them. And then the rest usually just get added to the next year, with the hope that maybe if they stay on the list long enough they will get accomplished. Or I might just get tired of writing them over and over every year and get a new goal – either way, I’m easy to please.

    Your list looks great – I think that I might have to steal some of those good ideas…I’m thinking that scrapbooking 2 hrs/week would probably do wonders for the mountains of pictures I have waiting!

  3. 3 Stacy December 31, 2007 at 9:43 am

    Your list looks great and do-able…I wish you luck on accomplishing everything! ๐Ÿ™‚ I am a list maker, too, and know the high from having a complete list. It is a beautiful thing to behold! ๐Ÿ˜‰ I am going to be late on my list…I’m still working on those doable parts of the list.

  4. 4 arizaphale December 31, 2007 at 9:21 pm

    An impressive and well thought out list. I don’t do resolutions usually but I am trying to go on my New Year diet as of today. It is very simple. The 5 Cs.
    No
    chips
    chocolate
    cake
    cookies
    chardonnay (this actually just means no alcohol)
    I will try and stick to all of them for the first week and then the alcohol will creep back in. ๐Ÿ™‚ I hope to lose 5kg. It may take more than a week……

  5. 5 Christina January 1, 2008 at 8:59 pm

    Wow! I’ve never been one for resolutions, but this makes it look so doable that now I feel like I should do the same! Great idea to break it into bite-size pieces – and to post it, to hold yourself accountable! You put me to shame with your healthy eating and especially the exercising. But I am planning to organize one area of the house each week, too. And being a more “mindful mommy” tops my goals.

  6. 6 Kim January 6, 2008 at 7:16 pm

    Looks like you’ve got some good stuff there. I’m still formulating my list of resolution for this year…. I’m sure I’ll post them later in the week.


  1. 1 New Resolutions & A Best Shot Monday « Barely Controlled Chaos Trackback on January 4, 2009 at 11:11 pm

Leave a Reply

