A glimmer of hope…

I am not a political junkie by any means. Usually I scan the headlines, pick up what I “need to know” – when I need to know it, and I am a great “armchair critic.” I can sit here and tell you what is wrong and what needs fixing in this country, but I do not have any idea how to go about it, nor do I go out and participate in any sort of activism.

But I have been sitting here, eating dinner completely fascinated with the PBS analysts going through the Iowa caucus numbers.

Our “guy” has a true shot here. There could be a monumental and pivotal moment in U.S. history this year.

I remember a few years ago when Barack Obama spoke at the Democratic National Convention and J. and I watched his speech with our mouths gaping open. He is a phenomenal speaker. I literally had goosebumps as I sat and listened to that obama_mama.jpgspeech and I remember saying to J. that night, “Man, I would vote for him for President in a second.”

He really is astounding and if you have never listened to him speak, do yourself a favor and go listen to this and this. (And if you only have a little time – listen to the second one, the second half of his speech…that is when it gets REALLY good.)

We kept that speech on our Tivo for the longest time, and it was a good, little reminder that there are still politicians out there who are honest, sincere, smart, eloquent, and have a view of how our great country should be run.

I was thrilled when he was elected as our senator (when we lived in Illinois) and I have been cautiously optimistic that I would someday be able to vote for him for President as well.

I have jumped wholeheartedly on his bandwagon. I am an ObamaMama.

I am so hopeful…

5 Responses to “A glimmer of hope…”


  1. 1 Matthew January 4, 2008 at 11:08 am

    I’m with you. Thanks for the links to the speech. I also was able to pull up last night’s speech on his website. It has been a long time since we’ve had a candidate who can speak like he can!

  2. 2 Elisa January 4, 2008 at 6:07 pm

    Feeling hopeful as well – was quite pleased with the results although disappointed that he only got one more electoral vote than Clinton. Also a bit confused about some “super delegate” thing that Clinton has – stats show her having more delgates/electoral vote thingies than Obama – way more. I’m guessing those are merely projections as Iowa was the first official vote!
    Am a bit concerned about an article that hails Obama as an atheist…not sure how true it is. Surprised that someone so seemingly compassionate does not believe in a higher power. Anyone know anything about this?

    Here’s to great things in New Hampshire!!!!

  3. 3 Kim January 6, 2008 at 6:31 pm

    I’ve decided to vote Democrat for the primaries, just so I can vote for Obama! I really like him, which makes me slightly suspicious. Is he too good to be true? Could he just be saying what he thinks we want to hear? Every time I catch him on TV (saw him on Leno once) I like him just a little bit more.

  4. 4 Elisa January 7, 2008 at 10:31 am

    Kim – I’ve thought the same things – from doubting him to liking him more every time I hear him speak. I think lots of people have been having those same thoughts but when it comes down to it – they are ready to go for a change and vote for him. After the Iowa race he is “rocketing” (as the papers say) ahead in the polls. Tomorrow will tell a lot!

  5. 5 carrievoris January 7, 2008 at 11:13 am

    I am reading his book right now and it is only making me like him that much more. The book is so very well-written and he has a very diverse bunch of experiences to pull from in his life. I think that his being a little “green” and inexperienced may ultimately hurt him, but he is so much more likeable than Hillary! And also he is so passionate and hopefully those things will help him bring about some change!


Leave a Reply

