Books ~ Theme Thursday

Books. A word near and dear to my heart. I love to read, J. loves to read, and I am so happy that the girls seem to be following in our footsteps. We spend many a Saturday afternoon wandering around the bookstore. And when I saw that this week’s theme was Books, I knew that I wanted to capture a moment from my favorite time of the day.

Granted, some nights it is my favorite time of the day because it has been a particularly hard or long day, and I just need them tucked in. And I need some peace. But most nights it is that moment when the girls are all scrubbed clean, their teeth have been double-checked for brushing, they are in their soft pjs, all ready to snuggle and they say, “Can we read in your bed tonight, Mommy?”

It used to be that I would read Ad her books (usually she would weasel four or five Sandra Boynton books out of me) and Em would “listen in on” Ad’s books. Then we’d tuck Ad in, and then I would go read a “big girl” book to Em and tuck her in.

But their reading paths have converged. Ad will sit still for much longer books now and wants to read “Emma’s books.” So we have been piling into my and J’s bed and they each get to pick a book. Addie almost always picks some sort of Princess book, but Emma likes to mix it up. She has been picking some Dr. Seuss books lately, and trying to read some of them to me. We are so close to the next level when Mommy will be replaced and Em will be reading to herself or to Addie.

Until then, I will continue to soak all of our bedtime reading in. And treasure each word.

dsc_0017.jpg

Make sure to go over and share some Book love with other Theme Thursday photos.

12 Responses to “Books ~ Theme Thursday”


  1. 1 Maggie January 24, 2008 at 5:06 am

    That is so sweet, and I love it in B&W! Reading is definitely one of my favorite times of the day…

  2. 2 Stacy January 24, 2008 at 7:39 am

    Bedtime is my favorite time too! Great photo. So sweet!

  3. 3 Kim January 24, 2008 at 7:41 am

    I like that night time snuggle, too! Will is just now becoming interested in books. He doesn’t bring them to me yet, for reading, but he’ll sit for a few seconds and look at the pages, or will sit with me for a minute or two when I pull him onto my lap for a read.

  4. 4 LLD January 24, 2008 at 8:20 am

    Oh, that is very sweet, I love the black and white, but with the colour accents, very nice.

  5. 5 HeadGaggler January 24, 2008 at 9:34 am

    Aww, they are so cute sitting together.

  6. 6 killlashandra January 24, 2008 at 11:54 am

    Sweet photo. I wish our bedtimes looked a little bit more like that. šŸ™‚

  7. 7 Stacy January 24, 2008 at 12:13 pm

    Too sweet…love the photo! We have our book reading nighttime rituals, too.

  8. 8 Christina January 24, 2008 at 12:31 pm

    What a sweet photo! The subtle selective color is great. Reading together at night is my favorite time of the day too!
    And that’s great that Addie is ready for longer books now! We’re not quite there yet.

  9. 9 MelodyA. January 24, 2008 at 6:09 pm

    That is too sweet. My girls would totally love that. Not sure they would get out of my bed though.

    And, yes!! You would make #3 on the craft pay it forward. I’m so glad you’re joining. So I will finish my goody and hopefully can send if off next week. You will get one. I will reveal what it is when I am done. Thanks!! Oh, and you have to create 3 and send them off.

  10. 10 Rosey January 24, 2008 at 6:44 pm

    What a sweet photo of the girls reading together. I like the vintage-y colors, too. And I like the new header!

    Thought of you earlier this week, we had Chinese take out (which we love) and they had REALLY LAME fortune-cookie fortunes! LOL!

  11. 11 Bonnie January 24, 2008 at 9:51 pm

    I love to see kids enjoying good books ! Great photo !!

  12. 12 Cari January 24, 2008 at 9:58 pm

    AWWWW! so very sweet. What happy little ones.


Leave a Reply

