This One’s For The Boys…

…mostly Daddy because he misses his girls so much. But also for Papa because he is apparently unhappy that I have not posted anything in the past two days.

So here you go guys, photos of the girlies from our park expedition yesterday –

dsc_0023_sm.jpg

dsc_0062_sm.jpg

I have been tirelessly trying to keep our days filled while J. has been gone this week, so that (1) the days go by a little more quickly and (2) it keeps the girls busy – both of which will inevitably keep all of us happy.

Ah, who am I kidding? I’m just trying to wear them out as much as possible so I can put them to bed by 7:30pm and they’ll be so exhausted they won’t think of getting up before 8am.

Which I must say has been the case this week, so my evil plan is working. Mwa ha ha ha ha!

We have had a pretty uneventful week, pretty routine stuff. The girls have been a good mix of “pulling-my-hair-out” frustrating and “cavity-inducing” sweet. Which means they give me plenty to be thankful for and remind me that J. and I are very blessed, while at the same time not allowing me to get too complacent and lulled into thinking I have perfect children.

They have been C-H-A-T-T-E-R-B-O-X-E-S lately, though.

Em keeps asking random questions. Persistent questions. And I guarantee that we are not done discussing this topic. It will come up again, probably tomorrow.

E: Mama, what would you say to an alien if you met one in outer space?
M: Well, I don’t think there really are “aliens” like you think of aliens, honey. They are kind of just make-believe, like on cartoons and such.
(Sorry to offend any of you E.T. believers out there…but I was trying to figure out the easiest way out of this without inciting any sort of nightmares of possible extra-terrestial life!)
E: Oh, I know. But if you could go up in a rocket ship to outer space and you did find an alien? What would you say to him?
M: Hmm…well, I think that if I did find one, he would be so scared because he had never seen a human before, he would run away before I could even ask him anything.
E: Oh. Yeah, he probably wouldn’t want to talk to you anyway.

And Addie…the girl just doesn’t quit with the funny stuff that comes out of her mouth. Yesterday they both came up to me and wanted me to open something –

Em: Mama, can you open this for us?
M: Just a sec, babe. I’m cleaning the cat poop box out.
Ad: Ewwww! UCK! Let’s get outta here, Emma!

And this morning as she was trying to sneak out of eating her bagel, she leaned over and whispers…“Emma, let’s get out of here!”

She has impeccable timing, too. The minute I am about ready to lose it, she will get this goofy grin, look at me out of the corner of my eye and say something that has me cracking up. The other day she was being…well, a two-year old, again, and Em said to me, “Mama? Is Addie pushing your buttons right now?” And before I could even respond, mostly because I was laughing at Em and her assessment of the situation, Addie looked up at me with her big, puppy dog eyes and said in her little sing-songy voice, “But I love you, too, Mama!”

Who can argue with that?!

9 Responses to “This One’s For The Boys…”


  1. 1 Maggie February 3, 2008 at 12:39 pm

    Great park shots! It’s cold and gray and rainy here, so the fact that you had sun and park-worthy weather certainly makes me jealous!

    And I’m totally impressed that you can get them to sleep in until 8…think that they would be willing to give lessons on that? Because Garrett keeps getting up at 5:30…

  2. 2 Stacy February 3, 2008 at 5:13 pm

    Great shots above, and how cute are they?? Em sounds a lot like Anya, pushes buttons and then turns sweet on you. 🙂

  3. 3 Aunt Laura February 3, 2008 at 5:19 pm

    Great park pics. Have a good time in Hawaii. Send me a card, Please.

  4. 4 Becky February 3, 2008 at 6:35 pm

    Adorable!!! I just love the silly things kids come up with! Just tonight, as a matter of fact, Austin says to me: “Mom, I need new party clothes.” We were shopping for some new Jeans for him. When I asked him what for, he responded with, “Like, for a funeral.” Uh, not exactly my idea of a party! 🙂

    Have a great week!

  5. 5 Aunt Vicki February 4, 2008 at 6:51 am

    Uncle Dick and me have been so hoping that your trip to Hawaii would materialize — so the news is great!! Have a WONDERFUL time — all 4 of you!! Maybe it will help you forget all the days that J. has to be gone!
    Love to all 4 of you — and Happy Hawaii!!

  6. 6 Papa Stan February 4, 2008 at 8:22 am

    It was worth waiting for. . . Thanks.

    I just noticed the black and white in the header, that’s a really cute one too. The haircut looks so good.

    Love,
    Dad

  7. 7 kcancio February 4, 2008 at 9:49 am

    Man, Em is looking so grown up! Love those shots. The blue of that slide is electric. I’m sure Addie’s hair was electric, too, after coming down it.

  8. 8 Elisa February 4, 2008 at 10:28 am

    HAPPY HULA DANCING and all that FUN stuff! Have a wonderful time!

    Funny stories – I love how Addie just knows when she is almost over the line and instead of just gingerly backing away from “the line,” she yanks you all back from the edge with something funny!! What a character! A beauty, too.

  9. 9 Christina February 4, 2008 at 7:20 pm

    Cutie girls…looks like Bear & Addie have a similar relationship to mu girl and TedBear.
    Nadia’s also already figured out how to get me laughing at just the right moment, when I’m about to lose it. Little buggers. ;o)


Leave a Reply

