Confessions of a Neglectful Mommy

I am ashamed to admit this, but since I know that you all won’t judge me too harshly, I thought I’d share the girls’ and my latest literary journey. The one starring the very neglectful Mommy, played by me.

A beautiful new library opened up a few blocks from our house. Emma has been watching the construction of it with great interest. Every time we would travel past it she would pipe up, “we are going to visit the library when it opens, right Mama?”

So a few weeks ago we started our trek up there. As we were walking (Yes – it is within walking distance!) I realized that it was actually kind of a “maiden voyage” for the girls.

For shame. I have never really taken them to a library.

I almost couldn’t believe it myself. I think we may have happened into the library at the Rec Center when we lived in Aurora, but Emma was far too little to really realize what was there. And since then, there just hasn’t been a convenient library around.

The lack of library in their lives hasn’t seemed to squelch their love for books – both girls L.O.V.E. books. We have our own very healthy library of children’s books and one of our favorite ways to kill time during a long week weekend activities is to roam the bookstore. The girls know exactly where the children’s section is in every bookstore within a 20 mile radius from our home.

But to see the look of pure, unadulterated joy on Emma’s face when she walked into the library and realized that there were shelves and shelves and more shelves of books that she was free to browse, read, and BORROW? That was almost too much for my heart to bear. And then not having to say, “you need to pick just one,” I really did feel like I had been “holding out” on her all these years. It is an understatement to say that it made me feel a bit guilty that I hadn’t sought out, and made time for, a library before now.

library_sm.jpg

So I think we came home with a stack of eight books on Friday. All of which we have read three times each already, and we are all ready to stop by again as soon as we can.

And another confession, as long as I’m getting it all off of my chest here, as of late I have been dreading reading at bedtime to the girls because Addie always picks out one of the 8 princess books on Emma’s bookshelf. I simply cannot read those books again. We have hundreds of books, yet seem to only have about 10 in rotation. I usually get talked into three or four books each night, so we are talking every 2.5 days – we are back at the start of that rotation. It is maddening.

However, the last few nights there has not been a princess book to be found. It has been glorious. And I also found a new children’s author that I love. This is the book we got from the library –

513h80btgtl_bo2204203200_pisitb-dp-500-arrowtopright45-64_ou01_aa240_sh20_.jpg

besides writing the Charlie and Lola books (the very ones the Noggin show is based on – which is also very adorable) she has a slew of other books that all look great. I’m actually going to go look for some others when we go to the library next week. The artwork is really interesting and the story is original and fresh. And it even has Cinderella in it – so Addie is happy to get her princess fix.

It all got me thinking – what other books are we missing out on? Anybody have some favorites that we maybe haven’t discovered yet? We have moved beyond the board books. Ad and I will occasionally read them, but she mostly wants to read with Emma now. So we are looking for big story books – also they must have pictures. Not necessarily pictures on every page, but we are all pretty visual, and we do like some good artwork. Chime in – what books can you read to your kids over and over, and not get tired of?

10 Responses to “Confessions of a Neglectful Mommy”


  1. 1 Laura McIntyre February 26, 2008 at 3:01 am

    Oh you a bad mummy ๐Ÿ™‚ I barely take the kids to the library, well Eilidh and i go once a week but thats for me .

    I have no idea on books as i have a very low tolirence for reading the same book over and over. Rebecca has fell in love with this short story book just now “Am I Cute” and its the only thing she will let me read before bed and its driving me nuts

  2. 2 ksmcnulty February 26, 2008 at 3:57 am

    Well, let me see we love any of the Froooogggggy books (Jonathan London), anything with the 5 little monkeys (eileen christelow), I’m a big fan of Jez Alborough especially his Duck series. One of Carter’s faves is Duck in a Truck. Also, Care I think Em could really get into the Magic Tree House series (mary pope osborn). They’re chapter books, but so much fun (not to mention a glimpse into history)— you just agree on how many chapters you read a night. I’m talking 9 or 10 chapters that are 3 to 5 pages a chapter with some pictures. If you do venture into this series I recommend trying to start at #1.

  3. 3 ksmcnulty February 26, 2008 at 5:12 am

    Care, check into a story hour. Our library does a Wigglers program which is story hour for 2 – 5 year olds usually followed up w/ a quick, easy, related craft. I now need this day as much as P.— I’ve met a Great group of moms.

    Oh, and Fancy Nancy is always good as far as books go.

  4. 4 Elisa February 26, 2008 at 5:54 am

    Eric Carle books are great for the artwork – minimal words but beautiful artwork. The Clifford books – yes – Clifford the big red dog! I think the author’s last name is Nolan – or something close.
    There are the Amelia Bedelia books that Em will probably start to “get.” And do not forget the Junie B. Jones books. You’ll need to read them aloud with Emma because the stories are written as Junie would speak – and for a bunch of the first books she is in kindergarten. Some gripe because grammatically, they are an English teacher’s nightmare. However, they are hilarious stories told by a young girl who often acts before she thinks. She says “ain’t” a lot can “cuz.” They can be a lot of fun for mom to read aloud, too!
    I agree with the recommendation of The Magic Treehouse Books…and do start at one if you can just because it can be fun to start at one and work your way through….it’s also a TON easier to remember which books you’ve read that way, too! (I think there are over 30 of them now.)

    HAPPY READING!

    PS – Don’t feel so guilty!! Not having gone to the library before gave Emma a HUGE thrill of discovery!! I’m sure she was not lacking in reading material – so you unwittingly gave her such a great mmoment of discovery and wonder!
    Elisa

  5. 5 carey February 26, 2008 at 5:59 am

    i second fancy nancy- bean loves her! also, lauren child wrote a book about story book wolves- can’t remember the title- but it is fun read. all of karma wilson’s books are big hits here too.

    i’m glad you had a great library experience. we go every week to story time and to pick out new books. i really wish our library was within walking distance!!

  6. 6 Maggie February 26, 2008 at 6:49 am

    Oh the library! How jealous I am that you can walk to your library!

    We go at least once, and often twice, a week. Both to get books (we come away with a HUGE tote bag full every visit) and to go to story time. We also have various free programs (science classes, exploration times, etc) that are offered throughout the year. I like to get books for me too, but I have a lot of trouble browsing the grown up section with little kids in tow – but my library lets you request things online, then emails you when they are there for pick up. So the first stop that we always make is to pick up anything that we have requested – things for me or specific books or movies that we wanted.

    Fancy Nancy was a big hit with us. And Berenstein Bears have been popular lately too. And one of the favorites that we get only occassionally is “A Sock Is A Pocket For Your Toes”. It’s cute!

    I’ll have to rack my brain for the other books that we love – enjoy your new library!

  7. 7 thelandofka February 26, 2008 at 8:59 am

    We are so guilty of not getting to the library, too. We have lots of books at home, so I don’t feel too bad about it but could use a refresher. I’m glad they tired of Curious George, because I was getting ready to start hiding that dadgum book! ๐Ÿ˜‰

  8. 8 Papa February 26, 2008 at 9:10 am

    Care
    Lately the LSJ has been running a serial of a Beverly Cleary book about a little girl named “Ramona”
    Obviously I’ve been quite bored and have to read the ENTIRE paper including this series. The fact is, I look forward to the installment each week it is really well written and funny. Of course in many of her antics I substitute Emma for Ramona, because this one is about her just starting school. Her first day there the teacher says ” Ramona, sit here for the present”, and then she’s mad because she never got the promised present!
    Actually, after the pics of the Addie-tude, maybe it more resembles Addie than Em. I think Emma would really enjoy the early books in the series tho’
    Dad

  9. 9 Rosey February 26, 2008 at 8:23 pm

    Gosh, we’ve started going back to the library recently because I wanted to open Harrison up to the idea of actually SITTING for story time and getting book to borrow as part of the process. I actually have a draft that I was going to update today about the books we’re currently reading. I try to rotate – as does Harrison, I notice.

    One of our favorites this week was This is the House That Jack Built by Simms Taback. A fun collage illustrated version of the old rhyme even Ken loved reading that book (we may have to purchase it!)

  10. 10 Christina February 27, 2008 at 2:00 pm

    Yay for the library! We are loving it lately, now that Nadia is finally able to sit in one place for more than 2 seconds! Story time is great, too. We are still reading board books, tho, so not much in the way of suggestions from me. I can’t wait till we can actually READ books….I love kids books!


Leave a Reply

