Gray skies are gonna clear up…

It may have been an excruciatingly long and frustrating week, but there is an end in sight.

Tomorrow is Friday.

The rain has gone and we have incredible weather at the moment.

Denise came a little early.

Today is a “work” day.

Tonight is a “date” night.

It is all looking up, right?

So, I ran upstairs to actual throw myself together a little bit. Maybe put on a little perfume, some earrings, a matching outfit in anticipation of a little alone time with J. tonight.

I look in the mirror and I see this strange looking hair right on the top of my head. It is sticking out on an angle, and it just didn’t look “right.”

So I lean in and peer a little closer.

The hair was gray. My first gray hair.

And it wasn’t just a piece that looked a little blonder because of all of the sun I’ve been out in. It was full-on gray, all the way down to the root.  (Yes, I know that it was gray all the way down to the root because I immediately plucked it out of my head.)

How come I think J.’s gray hair looks really good, distinguished, even sexy – yet my lone gray hair has sent me into a spiral of vanity and despair?

And it hurt, and still hurts where I pulled it out. That must mean that I’ve riled all the gray hairs up. They are uniting as we speak, just below my scalp, and I’m going to wake up tomorrow fully invaded by gray hairs.

8 Responses to “Gray skies are gonna clear up…”


  1. 1 kcancio February 28, 2008 at 4:17 pm

    hehehe… you know you’re probably going to dream about that tonight…. All those grays banding together…..hee hee

  2. 2 Maggie February 28, 2008 at 5:15 pm

    You are too funny! Hope that your gray hair didn’t ruin date night!

  3. 3 Vicky February 29, 2008 at 5:09 am

    I can’t believe you just now found your first! You should be very proud of that, I’ve been finding strays for about 5 years now. UGH! And yes, for every gray hair you pull, you will get 2 more.

  4. 4 MelodyA. February 29, 2008 at 6:31 am

    I refuse to look that closely at my head because that day would certainly be bleak. I can’t believe you yanked it out. Ouch.

  5. 5 Christina February 29, 2008 at 1:42 pm

    Honey, I am 24 and I’ve already found a few greys!
    Hope the Gray army didn’t mount a successful invasion overnight!

  6. 6 Rosey February 29, 2008 at 10:53 pm

    I remember where I was when I found mine, in rush hour traffic on the 405 freeway with the sunroof open, that little gray hair reflecting in the rearview mirror against the sun rays. That was pre-Harrison. You should see them now!

  7. 7 Rosey February 29, 2008 at 10:54 pm

    PS I plucked my first one, too. And I still pluck any UNRULY ones, so they know to stay in line!

  8. 8 Stacy March 1, 2008 at 7:32 am

    I think that is a bit of a milestone moment for women…(((hugs))). I think that women can look regal in their grey hair when they have it coiffed right…but I’ll be dying my hair well into my 50’s I think. 😉 What just blows me away is how some 80 year old granny’s dye their hair red or brown and it looks just awful.


Leave a Reply

