A leisurely breakfast

6:24am

A: Mama! I wanna go downstairs. Mama?!
(Slowly open my eyes, it is not light enough in our room to be 7am yet. Quickly close eyes. Wait one minute, open eyes again. She is still there. Two inches from my face, waiting for me to give in.)
M: Ad. It is too early. Come cuddle with Mommy for a minute.
A: Ok.
(Climbs into the middle of the bed.) Hi, Daddy! Hi! (Daddy puts pillow over his head.)

6:44am

A: Mama. Mama? I’m hungry. I’m hungry, Mama.
(I give. After being jabbed by two, little, pointy elbows (or were they knees?) and listening to the tossing and turning of a little girl who is clearly not going to sleep any more. *Sigh. I get up ready to “start” the day. Emma joins us as we make our way downstairs.)

6:51am

M: What do you guys want for breakfast?
E: I want little bagels, two of them, with cream cheese.
A: Waffles! I want waffles.
(Sulk out to kitchen to make breakfast. It is *SO* early. Should not have stayed up watching Friday Night Lights. Again.)

6:56am
M: Girls! Breakfast is ready.

7:02am
A: I’m all done, Mama.
M: You haven’t even had 2 bites. You are not done. Eat.
E: I’m done, too. Mama.
M: You haven’t even had 1 bite. Eat.

7:21am
M: Come on you guys…you need to eat. Let’s go.

7:30am
(Daddy goes upstairs to take a shower. He and I have both finished our breakfast. He has read the entire LA Times, and I have read through the Front and California section. )

7:35am
M: Eat girls! Let’s go.
(I get up from the table, put away the breakfast stuff. Load the dishwasher.)

7:45am
M: Stop messing around. Eat your breakfast.
E: Eat, Addie.
A: Don’t worry about it, Emma!
M: Both of you! Don’t look at each other, don’t talk to each other. Just mind your own plates!
(Get the recycleables sorted and ready to go to the center. Also fold two loads of laundry – our laundry room is right off of the kitchen, so I can keep an eye on the lollygaggers while they are eating.)

8:00am
M: Enough! Emma, take your plate and sit at the dining room table. If you can’t stop bickering and eat, you don’t get to eat together.
A: Bye, Emma! (Said a little too gleefully!)
M: Addison, EAT!

8:02am
E: I have to go potty.
A: Me, too! I have to go potty.

8:04am
(Return to respective tables and continue “eating.”)

8:05am
(Scoop the catbox, decide it needs a full-on cleaning, dump the litter and scrub the box. Fill with new litter and wipe up cat pee all over the laundry room floor.) (Sidenote: I scooped the box. In case anyone is playing along at home.)

8:20am
E: Mom! I’m all done. Can I be excused?
M: Yes, you may.
A: I’m done, too Mama!
(Look over her shoulder)
M: No, you are not. Eat the rest of your waffle.
A: My belly is full!

8:22am
(Daddy returns. Threatens a “stand in the corner” and finally, FINALLY Addie shovels the rest of her breakfast in her mouth.)

One hour and twenty-seven minutes later. We have finally finished breakfast. At least I had a productive breakfast hour(s).

———————-

Another sidenote – In the past, we have tried the “they will eat when they are hungry, don’t make them clean their plates, just let them snack throughout the day” method. It worked ok when they were smaller, but the problem is now that they say they want one thing, they’ll eat a few bites, claim they are done and in a half hour they are hungry again. So now we are trying the “you can only have snacks if you have eaten a good breakfast (or whatever the previous meal was)” method.

We’ll see. I do understand – I need snacks throughout the day, too. And I do not want them to feel like they must clean their plates. When they are full, I want them to be able to recognize that – but I also can tell when they are hungry. The low blood sugar kicks in and they become whining monsters.

And here is a little tip. When you are waking me up complaining that you are hungry – well, you had better eat what you insisted on for breakfast.

9 Responses to “A leisurely breakfast”


  1. 1 Maggie March 6, 2008 at 2:11 pm

    At least you got all that stuff done while enduring the forever-breakfast! I would have just sat there poking my eyes out. Although dinner tends to be the pokiest meal of the day around here…which does have the benefit of not being served after an all-to-early wake up call.

  2. 2 Kristin March 6, 2008 at 5:34 pm

    Oh wow. Change the names to Meg and Drew, and your breakfast becomes my breakfast or dinner. It is SO frustrating! Luckily, my twins still eat pretty much anthing I give to them. For now.
    And, I never get to be productive, as I’m trying to pack the backpack/feed the cat/feed the babies/pull my eyes open.
    HA! I am glad I’m not alone!

  3. 3 Laura McIntyre March 7, 2008 at 2:47 am

    kids, see thats why we have breakfast a couple hours after being up šŸ™‚

  4. 4 Elisa March 7, 2008 at 5:54 am

    I’m with you….wake me up early demanding food and you better lick the plate clean and ask for more…..hahaha.

    Meals are tricky! We used to have wanderers during meals….getting up to do something, coming back to have another bite. Nipped it in the bud by saying, “You only get up from the table when you are done eating.” Of course, merely explaining that did not work by itself! After taking a plate away from a child who had gotten up to wander although really not done was about all it took. The child was upset…had eaten enough I knew he would not starve….and the situation was explained again with the imfamous, “You chose to……” (That is solidlly putting the proverbial ball back in the kid’s court and they tend to respond to that.) Next time said child went to wander, all we had to ask was, “Are you really all done!”

  5. 5 Papa March 7, 2008 at 9:36 am

    I’ll bet Smokey is upset now that the Rodent isn’t coming to stay.

    Ah, you cleaning the litterbox does mean that the two week experiment failed, Right??

    Dad

  6. 6 kim March 7, 2008 at 11:11 am

    While our breakfasts/lunches/dinners aren’t quite as long as that, we do seem to have some lengthy meals. Lauren can’t sit and just eat. She plays the whole time. Then she whines when she’s the last one sitting at the table.

  7. 7 Colleen March 7, 2008 at 11:37 am

    We’re having the same problem here. Ours is mostly a dinner problem. I’m struggling with making Zoe sit and eat. We did “she won’t starve herself, if she’s hungry she’ll eat”. We tried saving dinner when she didn’t eat… and then when she said “I’m hungry!!!!!” we told her dinner was still on her plate. No snacks until the dinner was somewhat eaten. I can’t decide if it’s better that Zoe eat snack rather than go to bed hungry… or learn that she needs to eat dinner foods.

  8. 8 Christina March 7, 2008 at 8:04 pm

    I know I shouldn’t laugh…but I can’t help it. It’s good to know that that I have company in the much-too-early wakups and and stubborn little non-eater. But at least I don’t have two of them to egg each other on….We too have decided it’s time to move on to the “no snacks if you don’t eat breakfast/dinner” approach.

  9. 9 thelandofka March 7, 2008 at 9:05 pm

    Yeah, I could have written that LOL! Ours usually say they are all full then ask for a cookie…like that is going to happen. We are working on it, too.


Leave a Reply

