Crafty Tuesday

More of the domesticated “craftiness” around our house again this week, but no true “crafts” to show.

Before I forget, since my crafting time has been consumed by spring cleaning instead, Crunchy Domestic Goddess has another green giveaway! Go check it out and you may win your very own Basic H2 Organic Super Cleaning Concentrate from Shaklee. It sounds like a great general all-purpose, all-around cleaner. I’m excited to try it.

shakleegiveaway1.jpg

I have been trying a variety of “green” (well, some “greener” than others) products out around the old household here as I am trying desperately to get on top of the organizing and cleaning out of…well, just about everything.

Last week I tackled the front hall closet, a.k.a. the black hole of jackets, shoes, sporting goods equipment, sunhats, winter hats and mittens, and anything else that didn’t have a real home. I also straightened out my linen closet. I am gleeful when I open a door and see nothing but neat, orderly rows of goods in their assigned spots. Anal? Type A? Whatever you want to call it, it is making me a wee bit happier around here. My closets are next – then you’ll see some serious, I mean serious giddyness! When they are done, that is.

So anyhow, as I was saying – found a few new products at the ‘ol Target last week and did try them out.

It seems that the big companies (Palmolive, Clorox) are jumping on the bandwagon and trying to make a buck off of the “green” movement. I’m torn on this dilemma. I want to support them, buy the products, and send a message that “this is the kind of product you should be making, the kind of products we should all be using,” on the other hand, they are still making the “bad” products that they know are bad for the environment (full of phosphates, chlorine, etc.). So then it seems that I should just spend my money with the “little” guys who only do only “natural” products. Any thoughts on that?

Anyhow, enough of the boring cleaning stuff. On to the fun eating stuff.

I have also been trying to make a lot more in the way of true meals, so that we are eating out less. And I have been recruiting the girls in the preparations, hoping that they will in turn eat more of the fruits of our labor. It has been about 50/50 on that front. Maybe I get a few more bites down them, but they are having fun nonetheless.

Making our pizza dinner on Sunday…rolling out the dough.

dsc_0005_sm.jpg

It doesn’t matter what it is, Addie has to taste it. This time it was flour. She didn’t seem to mind it either.

dsc_0009_sm.jpg

Em did most of the work, Addie just kind of supervised. Mostly because she could not stop eating the ingredients.

dsc_0017_sm.jpg

I forgot to take a pic of the finished product. It turned out really nice, though. Still have some in our fridge if you pop on over you are welcome to some cold, homemade pizza. I might even warm it up for you, if you’re lucky.

Tonight (well, last night by the time you all read this) we did taco night and made fresh guacamole from our avocados and lemons. It.Was.Good. If I do say so myself. It was really the first batch of avocados that we have used from our tree, they are creamy and really delicious.

dsc_0049.jpg

Hmmm…doesn’t really look too appetizing in that photo. But there are also leftovers, if you are in the neighborhood, come experience it for yourself. Otherwise, just take my word for it.

And finally, J. was away all weekend, so we made him cookies.

Addie, again, testing the ingredients…

dsc_0044_sm.jpg

And the finished product.

dsc_0053_sm.jpg

Yummy, eh? Okay, by now you all know that “Let’s make cookies for Daddy” – they are just “code words” right? I’m sure J. knows it, but if he doesn’t, (Hi, honey!) he will now.

“Let’s make cookies for Daddy” is all a cover for “Mommy really needs something sweet and yummy today.” Yeah, my covert operation was to please my choco cravings that are in full force right now. So I’m going to have some of those cookies and some milk. And then sit back and soak in all of your “craftiness” from the week.

10 Responses to “Crafty Tuesday”


  1. 1 Vicky March 11, 2008 at 4:08 am

    Addie is a girl after my own heart. I have to sample all ingredients (except the flower) while cooking also πŸ™‚

  2. 2 Maggie March 11, 2008 at 5:29 am

    Yummy! Now I’m hungry and I want pizza and guacamole. And cookies. And it’s not even 8:30 yet. Think that’s a problem?

    I didn’t do anything crafty this week either. Unless you count taking a shower or putting on clean clothes…in that case I was crafty a few days this week. But not all of them…

    And also, I have learned something. I can honestly say I had no idea that avocados grew on trees. I’m pretty sure they wouldn’t survive the midwest climate though…which is too bad…

  3. 3 thelandofka March 11, 2008 at 6:31 am

    I love fresh guacamole…it’s one of my favorite things. Ah to live to So Cal and have avocado and lemon trees…lucky gal! I have some craftiness over at my place today, too.

  4. 4 MommyBrain March 11, 2008 at 7:20 am

    That’s just adorable. I can’t wait until my girls are old enough to help me cook. And I’m all too familiar with your code. Although, in my house it’s usually “look honey, I made you some brownies” and he responds “you mean you were craving chocolate.” πŸ™‚

  5. 5 kim March 11, 2008 at 12:33 pm

    So I was going to post a few more of the pages that I did two weeks ago… but I never got around to shooting them… so I’ve nothing for this week…. maybe next!

  6. 6 kim March 11, 2008 at 4:34 pm

    so I lied…… I decided to throw something up today under the heading of “crafty tuesday”
    http://www.cancio.org/blog/?p=950

  7. 7 Anna at Hank and Willie March 11, 2008 at 5:33 pm

    OH YUM, wish I were in your neighborhood for sure! Ans we speak the same language, when I have a sweet craving I usually mask it with …”oh, I should bring brownies to…name the place!” πŸ™‚

  8. 8 Elisa March 11, 2008 at 6:20 pm

    LOVE the photo of Addie looking on while Em spread the sauce – what a fun look on her face!!!

    Hey- if you get too many avocados – ship some out here! We LOVE guacamole around these parts.

    I, too, tackled my linen closet while talking on the phone today. How many towels does one need? I got rid of a bag of towels and sheets and pillow cases that either no longer have matches or that we haven’t used in years anyway….guess we won’t miss them! It looks great in there….I’m almost giddy myself!

  9. 9 Christina March 12, 2008 at 11:33 am

    Hey, I’ve got some closets in need of some serious straigtening if you feel the need????

    I’ve been trying to do more cooking/baking with the girl, too. It’s really pretty incredible how much they can do at two years old. I LOVE the pizza-making pictures- such sweet little helpers, and again, Nadia and Ad are twins in regrds to eatng e v e r y t h i n g. Your house always seems to have the most incredible light!

    Fresh guacamole, I’m swooning. Best stuff on earth!


  1. 1 Cancio » Blog Archive » Crafty Tuesday Trackback on March 11, 2008 at 4:34 pm

Leave a Reply

