Dis-enchanted

The disenchantment with her straight hair has begun.

dsc_0051_sm.jpg

Em has been having either Denise or I put braids in her hair while it is wet at night so she will have “wavy” hair in the morning. The braids actually frizz her hair out a bit and make her look a little like a poodle, but she really likes it.

I put my hair up in velcro rollers the other night before we went out, (No, I’m sorry – I didn’t get a photo of J and I – and the dress. I’m in anguish over the whole thing, since it may have been one of the few times I would have liked having my photo taken. I’ll try to throw it on again soon and snap a photo.) and anyhow – now Em wants to try curlers and see what her hair will turn out like.

curlers_sm.jpg

Those of you blessed, or cursed as you may see it, with straight hair will recognize the little foam curlers we all used to sleep in to get luxurious, curly hair.

I did vow to Emma tonight that I will not, under any circumstances, participate in any home perm activities with her gorgeous hair. I’m sure my mom is reliving my frightful perm experience.

Yeah, I did the “perm” thing many times in my teenage years, but you know which one I’m talking about, Mom.

9 Responses to “Dis-enchanted”


  1. 1 kcancio March 18, 2008 at 8:57 pm

    What a nice mom you are. Mine used to make me sleep in hard plastic rollers! Can’t wait to see the results!

  2. 2 Rosey March 19, 2008 at 12:37 am

    I remember those curlers! Also, because I have so much hair my mom used to put me in rag curls! Your mom may remember those…

    As for perms, we can share perm horror stories during a playdate some time!! Oy-vey!

  3. 3 msscatter March 19, 2008 at 3:40 am

    I remember rag curls and those foam curls. I also remember MANY perms being put in my hair but none at home, well, maybe some were? Oh, the smell, ewwwww.

  4. 4 Elisa March 19, 2008 at 4:39 am

    Ahhh….and those with curly hair want it straight…….

  5. 5 Maggie March 19, 2008 at 6:28 am

    Some of us didn’t know you back then….so I think that we had better see just why you are steering clear of a home perm….

  6. 6 carrie March 19, 2008 at 6:40 am

    Ha…okay, Maggie. I’ll see if I can find the tearful photo of THE perm. The one J. still to this day teases me about. And I’ll try to take a photo in the dress, too. I have a lot of homework to do today!

  7. 7 Christina March 19, 2008 at 8:06 pm

    Aw, but her hair is so pretty, so satiny smooth, so STRAIGHT! The grass-is-always-greener thinking start early, doesn’t it?
    Do we get to see the final product?
    And yes, we are waiting for the picture of you in the dress-of-the-century. Waiting oh so patiently….:o)

  8. 8 thelandofka March 20, 2008 at 7:10 am

    Oh my goodness…I totally fried my hair in the 80’s, too. I thought straight hair was the in thing now? She has beautiful hair, but we always want what we don’t have. Now my hair has turned wavy in my old adage, so I wish it was either curlier or straighter. We are just never happy. 😉

  9. 9 Colleen March 20, 2008 at 11:56 am

    We have many holiday pictures of me with those curlers… and then big Shirley Temple curls. I went through the whole perming thing for years and years. Now… after being pregnant with Zoe… I suddenly have a wave through most of my hair… a wave I would have killed for in high school. Now… I wish it would go stick straight again.


Leave a Reply

