As if we need reminding…

A: “Emmy? Can I come to your birthday party? Can I come, please?”
E: (with an exasperated sigh) “Yes, Addie. My party is going to be at our house – you will have to be there!”

Oh, I have heard this conversation, or a very similar one, at least twenty times in the past two days. It is so very sweet to hear Ad asking with such hopefulness if she is going to be included on the “list.” And so funny to hear Em patronizingly and maturely answer with just a hint of an “I told you already” or “We’ve been through this before” in her voice. So wise beyond her almost five years.

Em’s little friend from school (also an Emma – but not the little Emma that we have talked of before, yet another – a 3rd Emma – Emma C.!) had a birthday and zoo trip today. Em was so excited that she got to go with her friend Emma C., Emma C.’s mom and their other little best friend from school, Ella, on a date without Mommy or Addie! (Confused yet?)

Poor little Addie was not as excited. This is the third birthday party that Em has attended in the past few months, and Addie has been left home with Mommy.

Plus, we have been making plans for our big birthday party next week, so I think Ad is feeling a little left out and worried that she might not get to go to Emma Grace’s party either. And pretty much every moment of our week has been in negotiations discussion about who was going to get to come to the party. Our little attorney-in-training started with inviting the whole class. Yeah. Twenty kids and parents.

Mommy talked her into maybe 3 or 4 of her closest friends.

Until she listed “Emma, Ella, Kate, oh and then I need to invite Henry, Thomas and Vincent, too. They are all our ‘dudes’.”

Dudes? What?! Apparently the girls chase, yes you read that right, chase the boys on the playground and yell “hey, dude!” at them. I am not entirely sure why or what to think about that, but I am entirely sure that I do not want to encourage the boy chasing.

So, now I have stressed that we are only inviting girls. I know, I know – Timmy invited everyone in the class, girls and boys – but we are doing a nice small party. With. Just. Girls.

T-5 days and counting until my little girl will turn five. Has anyone invented that machine to make time stand still yet? Anyone? Anyone….

(More cute photos brought to you courtesy of the avocado tree.)

ad_tree_sm.jpg

em_tree_sm.jpg

Have a great weekend!

9 Responses to “As if we need reminding…”


  1. 1 shell_newman April 4, 2008 at 4:22 am

    I love that tree! Again the heart is there. However, today I love that tree because I used my yummy treats from that tree. Only thing better would have been for you to be here with me with our green “slime and lime” in the hand opposite the chips. Love ya-

  2. 2 msscatter April 4, 2008 at 8:11 am

    I remember chasing boys on the playground and eventually it reverses itself and the boys will chase them and the girls think boys have cooties. Eventually they both like each other at the same time but we don’t want to go down that road.

  3. 3 Maggie April 4, 2008 at 11:09 am

    I totally remember chasing the boys on the playground. Like it was yesterday. Oh wait, it was yesterday. Only I was chasing them to get them to listen to me.

    Come to think of it, that’s pretty much how it always has been, isn’t it?

    I always had girl only parties when I was little – except for my best friend who happened to be a boy. But he was always a good sport about it – and it’s a riot to look back at the pictures now and see all the girls, with him right in the middle.

    And as always, the pictures are awesome. I love the angle you used for the one of Addie – so cute, and I totally just want to pinch those round little cheeks!

  4. 4 MelodyA. April 7, 2008 at 4:08 am

    With my girls being over 3 years apart, it just kills me to see Vienne getting left behind. And apparently chasing boys happens on all playgrounds. Don’t fret just yet.

  5. 5 carey April 7, 2008 at 4:44 am

    oh, chasing boys on the playground. i seem to remember that from when i was in school too…. man, that was a long time ago! he he!

    i’m still waiting for the “make time stand still” machine too… πŸ˜‰

  6. 6 thelandofka April 7, 2008 at 5:47 am

    Oh, isn’t that the way of younger siblings? Always wanting to be included? I was the younger sibling, so I know that all too well.

    I know how hard it is to whittle down the list, too. Last year for Kai’s birthday it was the first time that I had to make a list, and was sad I couldn’t be inclusive of everyone in his class. Our house just isn’t that big!

    Such cute shots of the girls, too. πŸ™‚

  7. 7 Christina April 7, 2008 at 7:45 pm

    Such sweetness between your two girlies! Ahhh! Poor Addie, tho, forever the younger sister and left to trail behind. FWIW, I was the younger sister and it must have happened to me, but I don’t recall it…now I just have memories of growing up with a best friend!
    Not even 5 and chasing boys!?!?! NO, she’s growing up way too fast!! I’m still looking for a way to make time stand still too. Let me know if you figure it out.
    That tree and your girls are a great team. Every photo there is gorgeous with perfect light. I want an avacado tree!

  8. 8 kim April 8, 2008 at 8:30 am

    Love all these pics from the tree… they’re adorable!!
    Tell Em she’s got plenty of time for boys – yikes!

  9. 9 arizaphale April 18, 2008 at 12:35 am

    Awwwww don’t worry too much about the boys. There is a definite stage around 5 where they chase them and then they get over it and it doesn’t come up again for years……..:-D Chill Momma. I speak from experience! πŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

