Five At Last, Five At Last, Thank God You Are Five At Last!

Dear Emma Gracie Girl –

So we made it. You are officially five. I have been dreading this day and willing it to drag its feet and take its sweet time getting here. Yet I know it could not possibly get here fast enough for your liking. Nonetheless, it is here.

And you, my sweet, little Gracie girl, are five.

My five year old.

What an incredible year it has been for you.

You started preschool and it has been exactly the creative and social outlet that you needed. You have blossomed from a shy, slightly introverted, little girl into this amazingly confident, intelligent, social butterfly.

The very idea of “getting to go” to school this coming year – every. single. day. – makes your head spin with excitement. You truly are like a thirsty sponge who can’t seem to soak up enough knowledge. You are full of curious questions for everyone, eager to write everything down in your journals, and full of endless energy. I think perhaps someday you may become a writer.

Although you are also a bit obsessed with drawing lately, too. You leave sweet little drawings on my desk for me that are labeled “To: Mama, From: Emma G.” complete with drawings of the “whole family” or the flowers in our yard, or pictures of our house. All meticulously detailed. You drew a picture for your best friend Ella the other day and were so distressed as were going to her house, “I forgot to put a chimney on her house!” Thankfully when we pulled up to her house you were relieved to see that her house doesn’t have a chimney. Maybe you will become a great artist someday?

I am constantly amazed at everything you remember. We went to the aquarium recently and you were telling our friends all the names of the fishes, and which fish were coming up next in the gallery. And you can do the same thing with all of the animals at the zoo, too. And you are so curious about what the animals eat, where do they sleep, where is the baby giraffe’s Mommy? Maybe you will become a zoologist or marine biologist?

Some days you will catch me completely off guard as it is like watching a “mini-me.” You are so “first born” in your need to please everyone and you really thrive on praise. Recently, while you and Ad were playing upstairs in your rooms, I asked that you guys pick up the rooms before you came downstairs. (The two of you were doing a “show” for Addie’s stuffed animals – maybe you will become a dancer or an entertainer?)

Anyhow, you came downstairs and didn’t say anything and I kind of forgot about the mess upstairs until I went back up and found that both of your bedrooms were spotless. Not a toy or book anywhere, and you had even folded Addie’s little blankets on the bed. It brought tears to my eyes. I’ve noticed since then, and after I told you how much I appreciated how clean the rooms were, that you have been making a special effort to pick up your messes – even without me asking!

Daddy and I have often commented that you will probably become a great lawyer. You are a true negotiator, just like your Daddy. And it is usually on your Daddy that your negotiations are successful. You are good at reading just how far to push your luck, or who you can push just a little bit further. (Definitely, Daddy!)

And while negotiating is a good ability to have, I am way more thrilled with how truly thoughtful you have become. If you need a napkin, you will get one for everyone at the table. You recently got a treat from a friend at school and were opening it in the car, you squealed, “Mama! That was so nice of Timmy to put two candies in my bag – he must have known that I would then have one to give to Addie, too!” Moments like that take my breath away. Of course there are sibling squabbles, and you need to sometimes be reminded to share with your friends, but for the most part, you already know how to show everyone around you how much you care about them by doing little, thoughtful things throughout the day.

And besides just helping care for Addie, you have become one of her biggest influences. She adores every inch of you from the roots of your long hair (“I want braids like Emmy, Mama!”) to the tip of your toes. (“Can I have purple toes like Emmy, Mama?”) You are the last person she wants to see before she goes to bed, (“I need to kiss Emmy!” – For the 10th time!) and the very first person she wants to be with when she wakes up. (“Where’s Emmy? She downstairs?”) I watch you, so patiently, put your hand on her head and lean down to whisper something in her ear, and I feel like my own heart might just explode from my chest, or stop altogether, watching that lovely moment. And you make such an effort to include Ad in everything you are doing that she has started thinking that Ella and Kate are her best friends, too. She really believes that she is playing “tag” and hide-n-seek with the big kids, even if in actuality she is only running around after you. She is always watching and learning so much from you. Maybe someday you will become a teacher?

I do know that whatever you decide to “become” you are going to be a fantastic success. For now, I am content in just thinking you have just become the absolute best five year old girl in the entire world. And I’m so proud that you are our little girl.

Happy Birthday, Peanut.
I love you.
Mama

17 Responses to “Five At Last, Five At Last, Thank God You Are Five At Last!”


  1. 1 ksmcnulty April 9, 2008 at 4:02 am

    Happy Birthday Miss Emma Grace! I remember the morning your momma called me to tell me you had arrived just like it was yesterday. Celebrate all that 5 years has to offer you! Love you!

  2. 2 MelodyA. April 9, 2008 at 4:14 am

    Aw, sniff. Here’s to a wonderful 6th year of life.

  3. 3 Papa April 9, 2008 at 6:20 am

    Happy, Happy Birthday Emma-Zing Grace!!

    The tears in my eyes now are partly from the pride of a grandpa when I read all the amazing things you do, and especially how you give attention to Addie. But pride too in that special first born of ours, that can so succinctly describe the kids’ actions to make them come alive to us by merely reading them.

    All of her many gifts and abilities Care, come from two very special parents, and she is one lucky little girl to have such good examples as you and James.

    Love to you all
    Dad (Papa)

  4. 4 Vicky April 9, 2008 at 7:06 am

    Happy Birthday Emma Grace!

  5. 5 Mom April 9, 2008 at 7:18 am

    Happy Birthday Emma….It doesn’t seem possible that it’s been five years already. I remember the day you were born, Papa and I walked into the room and your Mom & Dad were beaming with happiness. They let me hold you and you were sooo beauitful, it was like holding your Mom for the first time. Oh what a great feeling…. I have to agree with Papa, you truly are amazing with all you know for a five year old.
    You are truly blessed to have such great parents.
    Have a Great Day!!!!!!
    Love to all of you
    Nana & Mom

  6. 6 thelandofka April 9, 2008 at 9:05 am

    Happy birthday Emma! Your stories about her brought tears to my eyes – she is such a sweet girl!

    I LOL’ed about your comment on my site today….ummm, no I didn’t make the dresses. 😉

  7. 7 kim April 9, 2008 at 9:45 am

    Where did those 5 years go? I can’t believe our girls are/going to be 5!!! It’s crazy.
    Happy Birthday, Em!!! We love you and miss you and hope you have a wonderful day!!!

  8. 8 Jenny April 9, 2008 at 1:09 pm

    What a wonderful post! It was truly fun to read and yes it made me cry as well. You should be an author. Really. They are both so lucky that you have captured EVERYTHING in photos and words from the heart!

  9. 9 Maggie April 9, 2008 at 1:25 pm

    Happy Birthday to Emma!! She is a lucky girl to have such a fantastic mommy – and such a beautiful letter com commemorate her special day!

  10. 10 Golightly April 9, 2008 at 9:59 pm

    Happy Birthday Emma!!

  11. 11 Nickie April 10, 2008 at 2:36 am

    Happy Birthday Gracie Girl! Oh, how I wish you guys lived closer. I hope you have a terrific birthday party and the HSM invites are adorable.

  12. 12 Elisa April 10, 2008 at 5:24 am

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO YOU, MISS EMMA!!!! 5 is such an AWESOME age – no wonder you were so excited to turn 5!!

    ENJOY everything this year holds in store for you.

    Love,
    James, his mom, his sister, his brother and his dad….(I figure she remembers James most of all – most kids do!) 🙂

    Carrie – So beautifully written!!!!!

  13. 13 Colleen April 10, 2008 at 6:01 am

    Such a beautiful birthday letter. I have tears in my eyes just from reading about your 5 year old Emma Gracie. It’s just so fabulous to watch what they grow into (and so heartbreaking at the same time). Oh, if we could just freeze them in their little girl place.

  14. 14 Christina April 10, 2008 at 12:22 pm

    Sweet, precocious, little Emmie…happy 5TH Birthday!!!
    Carrie, this beautiful letter brings tears to my eyes. So full of the love and wonder and hope of motherhood. Emma sounds like such an amazing little gal, and I have no doubt it’s due to you as her mother. Hugs and celebration for 5 wonderful years of motherhood!

  15. 15 arizaphale April 18, 2008 at 12:14 am

    And my my does she look like Mum in that last shot!!?
    Congratulations on five years old. Such a milestone. From the sounds of it Carrie you should be writing books on child rearing as all the traits you describe are exactly what we should be aiming for with our kids. That doesn’t just happen by accident. Sounds like you (and Daddy) are doing a great job!!
    Happy birthday everyone.

  16. 16 arizaphale April 18, 2008 at 12:16 am

    And my my does she look like Mum in that last shot!!?
    Congratulations on five years old. Such a milestone. From the sounds of it Carrie you should be writing books on child rearing as all the traits you describe are exactly what we should be aiming for with our kids. That doesn’t just happen by accident. Sounds like you (and Daddy) are doing a great job!!
    Happy birthday everyone.


  1. 1 Five At Last, Five At Last, Thank God You Are Five At Last! Trackback on April 9, 2008 at 2:12 am

Leave a Reply

