Perfection ~ Theme Thursday

I think nature is the ultimate display of today’s theme – perfection. I think that is why I enjoy gardening so much, seeing something beautiful grow from a tiny seed. I really want to give the girls an appreciation of nature, but I always feel like we need to go somewhere to find nature – to the ocean, to the zoo, to the aquarium, to Huntington Gardens.

But Em proved me wrong this week. We have many examples of nature’s perfection in our very own yard.

Addie, Em and Denise caught ladybugs, five of them, which became Em’s “pets.” I was surprised that she would take them out and hold them since she never really liked bugs before. It was fun to watch her talking to them, feeding them (apparently they like lavender, according to Em). It was a little less fun to have them sleeping next to our bed and eating breakfast next to us, but it is all in part of supporting her interest in nature, right?

Finally yesterday she thought that maybe the ladybugs might be happier out in our garden and she let them go.

But she is going to search for some more this afternoon.

Check out what perfection others are searching for today over at The Land of KA.

11 Responses to “Perfection ~ Theme Thursday”


  1. 1 Kim April 10, 2008 at 9:46 am

    I remember when there used to be toads in our yard. Me and my neighbors used to get shoeboxes and keep them as “pets”, only for the day though. At night, we’d let them go.

    Awesome post! šŸ™‚

  2. 2 thelandofka April 10, 2008 at 10:31 am

    What a great post! Those pictures are wonderful and your girl is turning into quite the nature lover.

    In these parts we are overrun with ladybug lookalikes – Asian beetles. Somebody brought them over here to eat bugs that were damaging crops, and well…as usual, they have become a nuisance. Apparently they used to hibernate in the cliffs over there. We don’t have cliffs, but we do have homes…and they like those just fine!

  3. 3 Erinne April 10, 2008 at 12:27 pm

    I love it!!! My girl is very much into nature and such so it’s nice to see her not afraid of all the things that make me squeel…

    Happy Searching.

  4. 4 Christina April 10, 2008 at 12:34 pm

    I love this! I remember keeping lizards and lightening bugs as pets. Looks like Em is quite the little naturalist – another option to add to the possibilites of what she may be one day. šŸ™‚

    And it looks like the Gracie Girl shirt is a hit!

  5. 5 andi April 10, 2008 at 1:53 pm

    I think it is so sweet that they spent the evening with you all, and then Em decided they’d be happier elsewhere- perfectly considerate! Such a nice post!

  6. 6 Maggie April 10, 2008 at 4:51 pm

    What a great thing for this week’s theme! And I love how clear and crisp your pictures look…I always seem to have trouble with that when I try to shoot something small…

  7. 7 kim April 10, 2008 at 7:32 pm

    that is hilarious and I cannot believe that she was actually interacting with the little buggers. funny girl…. that’s a 5-year-old for you. šŸ™‚

  8. 8 MelodyA. April 11, 2008 at 5:00 am

    What a way to nurture the love of the outdoors. We have not seen ladybugs here yet. Oh, but we did see a scorpion on the porch last night. Common in these parts.

  9. 9 Maya April 11, 2008 at 8:12 pm

    I love these photos! Ladybugs have a way of making people smile. And happy birthday wishes…I read all your other posts but I’m being lazy this late at night! šŸ™‚


  1. 1 Birthday Wave #1 « Barely Controlled Chaos Trackback on April 10, 2008 at 10:35 pm
  2. 2 The Birthday Party Recap « Barely Controlled Chaos Trackback on April 15, 2008 at 9:56 pm

Leave a Reply

