Pretty Painter

I have been feeling a little guilty lately. It seems I have been using many of the hours after dropping Em at school to run around and complete all of those errands that are so much easier with only one child in tow. Which means, of course, that poor little Addikins has been dragged all over for the past few weeks.

In my defense, she doesn’t seem to mind it one bit, and we find some fun little “treats” along the way for her. But I know it isn’t how a 2-year old would like to spend the afternoon.

So this week, I asked A. what she wanted to do.

“Um…paint?” she asked hopefully.

So that is what we did. She has some artistic talent buried deep down inside. Her style seems a bit of the abstract variety, but someday her artwork might be worth a few pennies.

Hmmm…is this thing on?

Ta da! It is a masterpiece, if I do say so myself.

Hey, look at how cool paint looks on my arm!

I think green is my color.

Whatchu think?

So pleased with herself. And Mommy had a good time, too.


14 Responses to “Pretty Painter”


  1. 1 ksmcnulty April 18, 2008 at 2:49 am

    how sweet! she looks like she really enjoyed the quietness of the afternoon. Quesion. What’s the thing I’m seeing in the background with the shape cut outs in it?

  2. 2 Maggie April 18, 2008 at 4:32 am

    Oh how cute! Not only did she get to paint, she got to paint herself AND while wearing a white shirt — you are the coolest mom ever!

  3. 3 carey April 18, 2008 at 5:08 am

    great pictures! she looks like she is having a wonderful time.

  4. 4 Elisa April 18, 2008 at 5:45 am

    She is such a charming child! Who could resist that sweet little face and smile????

  5. 5 kim April 18, 2008 at 11:53 am

    So much fun!!! I need to send my kids out there for several months, so they can get some painting done, too. That is one area of the art world that I am not ready for. I know, I know, I just need to suck it up and deal with the mess.

  6. 6 Nena April 18, 2008 at 12:05 pm

    Believe me Care….there will be a day in the not so distance future when those paintings will be worth so much more than pennies!! (I still pull out the blue tote from the closet and look at J and J’s artistic works and the memories that they bring are worth at least several million pennies, not dollars πŸ™‚

  7. 7 Lexer April 18, 2008 at 12:16 pm

    Hey She’s sooo cute I feel like I haven’t seen her in years. But I have πŸ™‚ It brings back memories of a couple months ago at What’s it called.

  8. 8 carrievoris April 18, 2008 at 12:59 pm

    Kimmer –
    It is the stool that we got the girls for Christmas. They both fit on there and it is great for baking! No more falling off of chairs – and yes, we had that happen more than a few times!

  9. 9 thelandofka April 18, 2008 at 1:55 pm

    Aww, she looks like she is having a great time! She’s so cute doing it, too. Is she by chance wearing a white shirt and no painting smock?? Perchance?? πŸ˜‰

  10. 10 carrievoris April 18, 2008 at 2:03 pm

    Yep…white shirts are our friends – I can oxy or bleach them!! They are actually the kids paints from Ikea though – and they come out of everything pretty easily!!

  11. 11 Christina April 18, 2008 at 8:25 pm

    What a great Mommy-&-Me afternoon! She is quite the little artist, especially when it comes to self-painting. πŸ˜‰

    All the pictures are great , but I really love the “tada, a masterpiece” capture! Well, and the green hands in front of her face!

    P.S. Wow, her hair’s already getting long again after the haircut.

    Oh, and that stool is TOO COOL!

  12. 12 shell_newman April 19, 2008 at 6:00 am

    I think green is my favorite color, is my favorite picture. Look at how sweet and innocent her little face looks. Man I miss you guys!

  13. 13 Maya April 20, 2008 at 10:05 am

    I love these photos. There’s nothing better than a painting child!

  14. 14 MommyBrain April 21, 2008 at 4:34 pm

    Great photos! Sounds like a great time.


Leave a Reply

