Earthy Tuesday

Happy Earth Day!

Since I don’t have any crafts to show today, I decided that I would share some earth-friendly goodness in honor of Earth Day instead.

A few Websites to take a gander at:
Ecologue – A great resource with lots of “easy ways” to go Green like this article with simple things you can do today to get started.

Low Impact Living – Find green products and service providers in your area.

EcoKids – Fun little site for kids with activities and blogs to learn about the environment and wildlife.

EarthDay.org – Find your eco-footprint and other things you can do to be kind to Mother Earth.

If you are searching for Eco-Friendly Crafting Supplies:
Piggytales
– Their entire line of scrapping paper is made from recycled paper, is lignen and acid free and is printed with soy ink rather than the standard petroleum-based inks.  Soy ink contains non-toxic soybean oil
and is not only more environmentally friendly, but also makes it easier to recycle the paper.   Oh, and I love their slogan for this line, too…”Save Earth, Save Memories.”

Books, for you and for the kiddies, too:

Live an Eco-Friendly Life – Smart ways to Get Green and stay that way.

It’s Easy Being Green – A handbook for earth-friendly living.

Green Up Your Clean-up – Make your home a healthier place for your family.

Every Day Is Earth Day – Kids crafts using recycled materials and eco-friendly themes complete with easy instructions.

EcoArt! – Earth Day crafts for younger kids.

Some interesting recycling programs that I have heard about/found recently:
PetSmart – At the front of the store they have these little mailers where you can mail in your inkjet printer cartridges and cell phones. The money is used to help needy pets. (I know they do this in the Post Office, too – but I am kind of bitter about the government getting the money, I like knowing some puppy or kitty is going to benefit instead!)

Target – My friend (Hi, Elisa!) just told me about a program that Target is doing in conjunction with last week’s (?) Newsweek magazine, where if you mail in a bunch of Target plastic bags you will receive a coupon for a reusable Target shopping bag. I currently own about 8 reusable bags that I always use for the grocery store…but somehow never think to bring to Target. That is on my list…as is trying to find a copy of that Newsweek. It was a Going Green issue with lots of goodies in it apparently.

Finally, remember (I know, it sounds so very cliche) we only have one Earth. Think about what you are leaving for your children, your grandchildren and try to make every day Earth Day. Reduce-reuse-recycle.

(*Stepping off of soapbox now.)

Have a great day!

————–

Happy Birthday Miss P! Hope you are having a great day.

10 Responses to “Earthy Tuesday”


  1. 1 Elisa April 22, 2008 at 4:01 am

    Regarding the used printer cartridges…..many schools collect them as fundraisers – they get $1 – $2 per cartrdige. If you have a Staples office supply store near you, they also take them and give you a $3 off coupon you can use on anything in the store. AND, you can use up to 3 coupons at a time. So, if you are buying a multi-pack of ink, you can get $9 off!

    Some schools are also collecting old cell phones for fundrasiers. They turn them in somewhere that either recycles or refurbishes them and they get money per cell phone.

    Will be checking out the envrionmentally friendly scrap paper…..LOVE my paper crafts but have worried about all that paper I am buying.

    Thanks for the ideas!!!

  2. 2 Maggie April 22, 2008 at 5:44 am

    Thanks for the links – now I have some reading to do during nap time!

  3. 3 thelandofka April 22, 2008 at 5:51 am

    I’ll have to check those out! I finally got some reusable grocery bags, but I need to use them more. Sometimes I just forget they are in my purse. We save our old target bags and use them as trash bags for our little trash cans around the house. At least we are reusing them right??

    I do have a crafty project (and Tutorial) up today. 🙂

  4. 4 MelodyA. April 22, 2008 at 9:40 am

    I was at Target today and they had tons of the Newsweek mags out next to a display of the reuseable bags which are made of the old plastic Target bag. Coolio. The cover of Newsweek is the mailing label so go grab one (one per household).

  5. 5 MommyBrain April 22, 2008 at 12:25 pm

    Great post! I’m working to eliminate plastic bags and am still going door to door to increase awareness for a recycling petition for our township. Happy Earth Day!

  6. 6 Elisa April 22, 2008 at 1:07 pm

    Update on the Staples thing with the ink cartridges. Just today I got my Staples Reward check in the mail with a newsletter. First, you get 10% of your ink/toner purchases in a rebate quarterly. Now, instead of the in-store coupon, you can redeem 3 cartridges at a time and the $3 goes on your reward card. At the end of the quarter you will get all the money back in a check to be used toward future Staples’ purchases.

  7. 7 Christina April 22, 2008 at 6:41 pm

    Cool links – which I had time to peruse them all now!! I’ll keep it bookmarked, and check it out as I can. Man, I was just at Target today but didn’t know to look for the Newsweek thing.

  8. 8 arizaphale April 23, 2008 at 5:40 am

    You are awesome in the extreme.

  9. 9 Kim April 23, 2008 at 6:52 pm

    I found out this weekend (while talking with someone at a scrap-mania at Archivers) that you can use white vinegar instead of fabric softener in your wash…. It can be used in the automatic softener cups in your machine or in one of the Downy balls. Not only is it extremely green, it also saves $$$. It also helps rinse the soap out of your clothes better. As soon as my Downy runs out, I’m going to give it a try.

  10. 10 Golightly April 25, 2008 at 8:45 am

    I’m so glad you posted those links, I was going to post a couple of the same links but I had a very busy week and blogging took a back seat! Bummer. I’.. have pictures soon and during Harrison’s nap today I’ll finish up and publish a couple of my posts!


Leave a Reply

